It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Source is our preferred database for art research. It combines the databases formerly known as Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective. Find full-text articles from over 600 international art journals, and detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. Art Source is international in scope, and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
From the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive index (1975-2007) to art books, periodical articles, essays on art, conference proceedings, & dissertations. International in scope, covering all historical periods and cultures. Includes abstracts.
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art and a companion database to ARTbibliographies Modern, this new database continues indexing and abstracting of scholarly publications (books, articles, essays, etc.) in all the visual arts from all historical periods in a world context.
Censorship and Silencing by Robert Post; Michael Roth (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998-05-28
This series explores open questions at the intersection of art history and the humanities.The contemporary transformation of censorship debates is explored through perspectives offered by historians, feminists, cultural theorists, and legal scholars.
Yale French Studies, Volume 122 by Robert Justin Goldstein (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
The English saying that "a picture is worth a thousand words" has often been applied in a perverse manner by ruling authorities, who have frequently feared visual imagery even more than the printed word. This was especially the case in countries, such as nineteenth-century France, where a significant segment of the population was illiterate and could understand visual imagery better than the printed word. In this volume, specialists in nineteenth-century French history trace the use of censorship by nineteenth-century authorities who feared the power of all the visual and performing arts, from caricature to the cinema and the theater.