Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Service Desk Manual: Student Worker Resources

Absences

Absences are only allowed due to academic commitment, illness, emergency. Examples of an emergency: sudden illness or injury, hospitalization, recovery from an injury. Frequent unplanned absences and/or frequent requests for subs may result in a reduction in hours, or termination of employment. 

Contact Information

ALWAYS email lib.ps.supervisors@colby.edu with any of your questions. This is in order to reach all of the supervisors for the soonest possible answer because we do not all work at the same times.

Steps for finding coverage:

  1. Student worker contacts the library supervisors at lib.ps.supervisors@colby.edu about the issue.
  2. Student worker reaches out to the library co-workers at libsub@colby.edu to find coverage.
  3. Student worker keeps library supervisors informed of coverage status by emailing the library supervisors at lib.ps.supervisors@colby.edu when coverage is found or of coverage issues, in advance.

Exams and Academic Breaks

Exams: Student Assistants are expected to work during exam periods. If there is an exam during your regularly scheduled shift, you are responsible for finding coverage for your shift.

Academic Breaks: Student Assistants are not expected to work during academic breaks. If you have plans to leave before break begins or return after breaks ends, you need to plan accordingly and find coverage for those shifts ahead of time.

Written Warnings - Personnel Issues

The following are examples of incidents that may result in the disciplinary action of a written warning. 

  • Repeated tardiness or unexcused absence(s) from work.

  • Not carrying out duties as assigned. 

  • Performance below minimum standards set for the job. 

  • Disregarding departmental policies.

The position will be terminated if you receive 3 written warnings.

Cause for Immediate Dismissal

  • Failure or refusal to follow supervisor’s instructions. 

  • Discourteous treatment, abuse, or harassment of any nature of the public or co-workers. 

  • Reporting to work under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 

  • Falsifying records (including time sheets) or inappropriately altering library databases. 

  • Breaching the confidentiality of any library records or transactions. 

  • Theft of Colby College property. 

  • Unauthorized use of library materials, facilities, or equipment. 

  • Unauthorized removal of library materials or equipment (this includes removing library materials that are not properly checked out.)

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next