It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Even primarily textual books frequently contain images to illustrate a writer's arguments. Images may be interspersed amidst the text or presented as a group of "plates" in the middle of the book. It can be difficult to determine which books will contain valuable images for your research simply from a catalog record. The abbreviations "ill" or "facsims" will let you know that the book contains illustrations or facsimiles, but not what the images might depict or how many there might be. You will need to take a look at the books you find to determine for yourself whether they contain useful images.
When you do find useful images, take note of the artists, collections, or original publication sources for these images. You will often be able to find similar images by using this information to extend your search.
Illustrating Empire tells the history of the British Empire through the ephemeral images used to promote, record, and celebrate its development. The narrative is told through more than 200 striking and original images accompanied by illuminating story captions which unlock the history and meaning behind the illustrations.Following a general introduction which provides an overarching discussion of Empire and its many facets, the book is structured around eight major themes associated with the British Empire and Britain's encounter with non-Europeans: emigration and settlement; imperial authority; exploration and knowledge; trade and commerce; travel and communications; popular culture; exhibitions and jubilees; and politics. Each chapter opens with an introduction which sets the overall context for the visual narrative to follow.The book examines the significance of a range of media in purveying ideas about empire and the non-European world. It also provides a clear summary of scholarly debates regarding the significance of empire in terms of British culture.
This pioneering study argues that the concept of 'empire' belongs at the centre, rather than in the margins, of British art history. NOTE: this book is shelved at Bowdoin
An Economy of Colour by Geoff Quilley (Editor); Kay Dian Kriz (Editor)
Call Number: ART N8232 .E36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-16
The contributors to this volume analyze visual culture in the context of British and French Colonial activity in the North Atlantic from 1660-1830. This fascinating collection demonstrates that the visualization of individuals, communities, social types, fictive characters, artefacts and landscapes, played a highly significant role in both the European representation and self-representation of the peoples and places of the Atlantic colonial world. Consequently, it reasserts the primacy of visual culture as an active participant in forming this complex and fluid "imagined community."
Colonialist Photography by Eleanor M. Hight (Editor); Gary D. Sampson (Editor)
Call Number: JV305 .C66 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-02
An absorbing collection of essays and photographs exploring the relationship between photography and Europe and American colonialism, using case studies and recent forms of interpretive analysis. Now published for the first time in paperback.
Picturing Imperial Power by Beth F. Tobin
Call Number: ART ND466 .T59 1999
Publication Date: 1999-02-05
This study of colonialism and art examines the intersection of visual culture and political power in late-eighteenth-century British painting. Focusing on paintings from British America, the West Indies, and India, Beth Fowkes Tobin investigates the role of art in creating and maintaining imperial ideologies and practices-as well as in resisting and complicating them.
The works include portraits of colonial officials, conversation pieces of British families and their servants, portraits of Native Americans and Anglo-Indians, and botanical illustrations produced by Calcutta artists for officials of the British Botanic Gardens.
Orientalism Transposed by Julie F. Codell (Editor); Dianne Sachko Macleod (Editor)
Call Number: DA533 .O75 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
"The essays in this volume demonstrate how influential the Empire was on British culture from the late eighteenth to early twentieth centuries. They show how, from cross-cultural cross-dressing to Buddhism, British artists and writers appropriated unfamiliar and challenging aspects of the culture of the Empire for their own purposes. An examination is also made of the extent to which colonized people engaged in the orientalizing discourse, amending and subverting it, even re-applying its stereotypes to the British themselves. Finally, two essays explore instances of the exchange of ideas between colonies."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Infelicities by Peter Mason
Call Number: CB203 .M37 1998
Publication Date: 1998-12-15
When European travelers went overseas in the sixteenth century, they encountered unfamiliar lands, peoples, and sights. These travelers had to re-present these encounters to Europeans for whom they stood for the unfamiliar--the "exotic." But the exotic, according to Peter Mason, is not something that exists prior to its "discovery." Rather, he points out, it is the very act of "discovery" that produces the exotic as such. In Infelicities Peter Mason explores the texts, paintings, drawings, photographs, and museum displays in which the exotic has been represented from the early modern period to the present.
The Cambridge Illustrated History of the British Empire by P. J. Marshall (Editor)
Call Number: DA16 .M29 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-26
Up to World War II and beyond, the British ruled over a vast empire. Modern western attitudes towards the imperial past tend either towards nostalgia for British power or revulsion at what seem to be the abuses of that power. The Cambridge Illustrated History of the British Empire adopts neither of these approaches. It aims to create historical understanding about the British empire on the assumption that such understanding is important for any informed appreciation of the modern world. Through striking illustration and a text written by leading experts, this book examines the experience of colonialism in North America, India, Africa, Australia, and the Caribbean, as well as the impact of the empire on Britain itself. Emphasis is placed on social and cultural history, including slavery, trade, religion, art, and the movement of ideas. How did the British rule their empire? Who benefited economically from the empire? And who lost?
Britannia's Children: Reading Colonialism through Children's Books and Magazines by Castle
Call Number: JV1011 .C33 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
This book introduces the reader to the imperial images of the Indian, African and Chinese - created for the youth of Britain through their history textbooks and popular periodicals.
New Worlds, Ancient Texts by Anthony Grafton (As told to); April Shelford (As told to); Nancy G. Siraisi (As told to)
Call Number: E121 .G7 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
Describing an era of exploration during the Renaissance that went far beyond geographic bounds, this book shows how the evidence of the New World shook the foundations of the old, upsetting the authority of the ancient texts that had guided Europeans so far afield. What Grafton recounts is a war of ideas fought by mariners, scientists, publishers, and rulers over a period of 150 years. In colorful vignettes, published debates, and copious illustrations, we see these men and their contemporaries trying to make sense of their discoveries as they sometimes confirm, sometimes contest, and finally displace traditional notions of the world beyond Europe.
This book highlights the richness of photographic sources for the study of one European colonial entity in Africa, the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan. Photographs from the extraordinary Sudan Archive of the University of Durham illustrate important aspects of the colonial experience and provide both important information in their own right and essential context for the study of the period. An introductory essay surveys the era, the documentary sources for its study, and the nature of the photographic record. The book will serve as both a model and an inspiration for the discovery, collection, conservation, and use of photographs as sources for the study of other outposts of the British Empire.