James Joyce
James Joyce by Man Ray, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1882 - 1941
Nationality: Irish
Literary Movement: Modernism
Archives
James Joyce Digital Archive - presents the complete compositional histories of Ulysses and Finnegan's Wake in an interactive format
The James Joyce Archive - by Michael Groden, Hans Walter Gabler, David Hayman, A. Walton Litz, Danis Rose,
James Joyce Collection - University of Buffalo Libraries
James Joyce Centre - Online Resources including articles, links to museums, archives, etc.
Reference and Background Information
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of Charles Dickens, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
-
Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
-
Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
Research and Criticism
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Keats scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your Iliad Account
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
The Cambridge Companion to James Joyce (2004) by
This second edition of The Cambridge Companion to Joyce contains several revised essays, reflecting increasing emphasis on Joyce's politics, a fresh sense of the importance of his engagement with Ireland, and the changes wrought by gender studies on criticism of his work. This Companion gathers an international team of leading scholars who shed light on Joyce's work and life. The contributions are informative, stimulating and full of rich and accessible insights which will provoke thought and discussion in and out of the classroom. The Companion's reading lists and extended bibliography offer readers the necessary tools for further informed exploration of Joyce studies. This volume is designed primarily as a students' reference work (although it is organised so that it can also be read from cover to cover), and will deepen and extend the enjoyment and understanding of Joyce for the new reader.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0521837103
The Value of James Joyce (2016) by
Margot Norris' The Value of James Joyce explores the writings of James Joyce from his early poetry and short stories to his final avant-garde work, Finnegans Wake. His works include some of the most difficult and challenging texts in the English literary canon without diminishing his impressive popularity beyond the scope of academia. A democratic impulse may be counted as an important feature of this paradox: that Joyce's stylistic and linguistic experiments never lose their focus on a world of characters whose everyday activities comprise the stories of life in Ireland in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, even as some of the most famous texts are given structures derived from Ancient Greek literature. The Value of James Joyce examines not only the significance of the ostensibly ordinary but the function of natural and urban spaces, classical and popular culture, and the moods, voice, and language that give Joyce's works their widespread appeal.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781107131927
The exile of James Joyce by
Translated from the French by Sally A. J. Purcell
Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 Z526613 1972ISBN: 9780912012124
Books
Ulysses by James Joyce (1946) by
"The Best Novel since 1900." -Ben W. Heineman Jr. ; The Atlantic Ulysses is a modernist novel by Irish writer James Joyce. It was first serialized from March 1918 to December 1920 and then published in its entirety in February 1922. It is considered one of the most important works of modernist literature and has been called "a demonstration and summation of the entire movement." According to Declan Kiberd, "Before Joyce, no writer of fiction had so foregrounded the process of thinking". Ulysses chronicles the peripatetic appointments and encounters of Leopold Bloom in Dublin in the course of an ordinary day, 16 June 1904. Ulysses is the Latinized name of Odysseus, the hero of Homer's epic poem the Odyssey, and the novel establishes a series of parallels between the poem and the novel, with structural correspondences between the characters and experiences of Leopold Bloom and Odysseus, Molly Bloom and Penelope, and Stephen Dedalus and Telemachus, in addition to events and themes of the early 20th-century context of modernism, Dublin, and Ireland's relationship to Britain. The novel is highly allusive and also imitates the styles of different periods of English literature. Since its publication, the book has attracted controversy and scrutiny, ranging from an obscenity trial in the United States in 1921, to protracted textual "Joyce Wars". The novel's stream-of-consciousness technique, careful structuring, and experimental prose--replete with puns, parodies, and allusions--as well as its rich characterization and broad humor, have led it to be regarded as one of the greatest literary works in history; Joyce fans worldwide now celebrate 16 June as Bloomsday. Truly a Must Read for all Fans of English Literature!
Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 U4 1946ISBN: 0370307372
Dubliners, a Longman Cultural Edition (2010) by
From Longman's Cultural Edition series, this new edition of Dubliners, edited by Sean Latham, recovers the cultural complexity of James Joyce's stories, locating them amid the tumultuous debates about politics, culture, and aesthetics that helped drive Joyce out of Ireland and into the world of his imagination. The first book by one of the twentieth century's greatest writers, Dubliners comprises fifteen complexly interwoven stories that helped establish the literary revolution we now call modernism. These haunting tales illuminate the seemingly inconsequential events of everyday life, unsettling readers by opening up the subtle mysteries of selfhood, language and history.
Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 D8 2011ISBN: 9780205537365
The Dead (1994) by
This edition of Joyce's classic short story from Dubliners presents the 1969 Viking critical edition, prepared by Robert Scholes, along with five critical essays - newly commissioned or revised for a student audience - that read The Dead from five contemporary critical perspectives. Each critical essay is accompanied by a succinct introduction to the history, principles, and practice of the critical perspective, and a bibliography that promotes further exploration of that approach. The text and essays are further complemented by an introduction providing biographical and historical contexts to Joyce and The Dead, a survey of critical responses to the story since its initial publication, and a glossary of critical and theoretical terms.
Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 D43 1994ISBN: 0312120826
Exiles (1977) by
"A neglected landmark of modern theatre that explores the byzantine complexities of marriage with the honesty of genius."-Guardian Back in Dublin after nine years abroad, Richard and Bertha have to ask themselves questions about guilt and responsibility as they confront two other people who love them. Will infidelity hold them together? Based in part on James Joyce's own relationship with Nora Barnacle.
Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 E9 1973ISBN: 0140481265
Finnegans wake by Call Number: Miller PR6019.O9 F54 1976
The Cat of Beaugency
James Joyce's Letters - The NLI Catalogue of the Hans E. Janhke Bequest at the James Joyce Foundation in Zurich
Special Collections
Dubliners (1993) by
Declared by their author to be a chapter in the moral history of Ireland, this much-acclaimed collection of 15 tales features timeless insights into the human condition. A fine and accessible introduction to the work of one of the 20th-century's most influential writers, it includes a masterpiece of the short-story genre, "The Dead."
Call Number: HEALY PR6019.O9 D8 1993cISBN: 0312097905- Exiles (1951) by Call Number: HEALY PR6019.O9 E96 1951
- Finnegans wake (1939) by Call Number: HEALY PR6019.O9 F5 1939b
- Joyce's progress by Call Number: HEALY PR6019.O9 Z843 1947
- Letters of James Joyce by Call Number: HEALY PR6019.O9 Z52 1957
James Joyce's Chamber music : the lost song settings by Call Number: HEALY OVRSZ M1621 .P34 1993ISBN: 0253350611- James Joyce : books and manuscripts by Call Number: HEALY Z999 .G546 1996
