Edna St. Vincent Millay
Source: Stuff You Missed in History Class
About the Author
Photograph of Edna St. Vincent Millay by Arnold Genthe, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Born: February 22, 1892, Rockland, Maine
Died: October 19, 1950, Austerlitz, New York
Years Active: 1912-1950
Literary Movement: Modernism
Edna St. Vincent Millay and Maine
- The Millay House in Rockland Celebrating the Legacy of Edna St. Vincent Millay- We envision an organization that inspires knowledge and appreciation of the life and work of Edna St. Vincent Millay, ensures quality education in the literary and fine arts, and encourages poets, writers, artists and other members of our creative community.
- Edna St. Vincent Millay's Maine | The New York Times By Emilie C. Harting, 1985
- Edna St. Vincent Millay's Hometown of Camden, ME | American Academy of Poets Information on Millay's childhood home and neighborhood.
- Edna St. Vincent Millay Residences and Map of Important Locations From the Camden Public Library.
- Edna St. Vincent Millay Collection | Maine Women Writer's Collection The Maine Women Writers Collection (MWWC) is a permanently endowed special collection of published and unpublished literary, cultural, and social history sources by and about Maine women.
- Rockland Celebrates the Life and Poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay From the Portland Press Herald
- Festival Celebrates Edna St. Vincent Millay From Maine Public Radio.
Online Resources
- ProQuest Literature Online | Edna St. Vincent Millay Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
- Literature Resource Center Online | Edna St. Vincent Millay Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literary Encyclopedia | Edna St. Vincent Millay Biographical information, short pieces of writing on the author, links to other resources
- Poetry Foundation | Edna St. Vincent Millay Biographical information and full poems available.
- Academy of American Poets | Edna St. Vincent Millay Biographical information and bibliography.
- The Edna St. Vincent Millay Society The principal goal of The Millay Society and the Friends of Millay supporter program is to foster and appreciate Millay's literary legacy and to restore and preserve this unique site, which has been designated a National Historic Landmark since 1972.Visitors to Steepletop can view a work in progress: they can experience the re-claimed gardens, walk the Poetry Trail and enjoy the expansive vista from the Tennis Court, visit the Exhibition Gallery, and tour rooms in Millay's house.
Books on Edna St. Vincent Millay at Colby
Savage Beauty by
Thirty years after the smashing success of Zelda, Nancy Milford returns with a stunning second act.Savage Beauty is the portrait of a passionate, fearless woman who obsessed American ever as she tormented herself. If F. Scott Fitzgerald was the hero of the Jazz Age, Edna St. Vincent Millay, as flamboyant in her love affairs as she was in her art, was its heroine. The first woman ever to win the Pulitzer Prize, Millay was dazzling in the performance of herself. Her voice was likened to an instrument of seduction and her impact on crowds, and on men, was legendary. Yet beneath her studied act, all was not well. Milford calls her book "a family romance"--for the love between the three Millay sisters and their mother was so deep as to be dangerous. As a family, they were like real-lifeLittle Women, with a touch ofMommie Dearest. Nancy Milford was given exclusive access to Millay's papers, and what she found was an extraordinary treasure. Boxes and boxes of letter flew back and forth among the three sisters and their mother--and Millay kept the most intimate diary, one whose ruthless honesty brings to mind Sylvia Plath. Written with passion and flair,Savage Beautyis an iconic portrait of a woman's life.
Call Number: Colby Miller Ground Floor Bookstacks 1 (S1) PS3525.I495 Z72 2001ISBN: 039457589XPublication Date: 2001-09-04
What Lips My Lips Have Kissed by
A noted biographer and poet illuminates the unique woman who wrote the greatest American love poetry of the twentieth century This is the story of a rare sort of American genius, who grew up in grinding poverty in Camden, Maine. Nothing could save the sensitive child but her talent for words, music and drama, and an inexorable desire to be loved. When she was twenty, her poetry would make her famous; at thirty she would be loved by readers the world over. Edna St. Vincent Millay was widely considered to be the most seductive woman of her age. Few men could resist her, and many women also fell under her spell. From the publication of her first poems until the scandal overFatal Interview twenty years later, gossip about the poet's liberated lifestyle prompted speculation about who might be the real subject of her verses. Using letters, diaries and journals of the poet and her lovers that have only recently become available, Daniel Mark Epstein tells the astonishing story of the life, dedicated to art and love, that inspired the sublime lyrics of Edna St. Vincent Millay.
Call Number: Colby Miller Ground Floor Bookstacks 1 (S1) PS3525.I495 Z636 2001ISBN: 0805067272Publication Date: 2001-09-10
Edna St. Vincent Millay by Call Number: Colby Miller Ground Floor Bookstacks 1 (S1) PS3525.I495 Z65
Edna St. Vincent Millay by Call Number: Colby Miller Ground Floor Bookstacks 1 (S1) PS3525.I495 Z62Publication Date: 1967
Poetry Excerpt
Important Works
Selected Poems, Edna St. Vincent Millay (1991) by
A selected edition of the lyrics and sonnets of Edna St Vincent Millay.
Call Number: Miller PS3525.I495 A6 1991ISBN: 0060167335
Collected Sonnets of Edna St. Vincent Millay (1988) by Call Number: Miller PS3525.I495 A6 1988ISBN: 006055102X