It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
Database providing full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline.
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowThe Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Flaubert scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
Manet, Flaubert, and the Emergence of Modernism (2003) by Arden ReedManet, Flaubert and the Emergence of Modernism weaves together art history and literary criticism in a joint study of the canonical 'fathers' of modernism. In this work, Arden Reed contests the Greenbergian view that equates modernism with purity of formal means. Modernism, he argues, is a matter of genre bending, hybridization, as well as movements between text and image. Focusing on key works by Manet and Flaubert, Reed articulates a novel understanding of the cultural imagination of early modernism. He shows how Manet and Flaubert actively mix and contaminate their work: Flaubert with images, Manet with narration. Moreover, Reed extends the argument to the twentieth century, claiming we cannot understand twentieth century modernism so long as we remain locked within single disciplines.
Novels of Flaubert: A Study of Themes and Techniques (1966) by Victor H. BrombertThrough a probing study of Flaubert's novels which brings out their nuances of tone, technique, vision, and meaning, Victor Brombert provides a close and complex analysis of Flaubert's art in relation to his tragic themes. A voiding undue emphasis on biography, Professor Brombert focuses on the haunting motifs of the novels and analyzes the features which contribute to Flaubert's total vision, while respecting the integrity of each work and discussing each novel in its own terms. The vision of Flaubert emerges, showing his artistic relevance to his time and to our own. Above all, the book brings out the poetic density and beauty of Flaubert's novels: the poetry of loss and constriction, the poetry of subjective time, the tragic poetry of frustration, and the poetry of unconquerable dreams. Originally published in 1966. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: Colby PQ2247 .B68
The Order of Mimesis (1986) by Christopher PrendergastThis book is a challenging investigation of the idea of literary mimesis in the light of contemporary literary theory. Drawing on a range of theoretical perspectives developed in and around the work of Barthes, Kristeva, Genette and Derrida, Dr Prendergast explores approaches to the concept of mimesis and relates these to a number of narrative texts produced in the period which literary history familiarly designates as the age of realism: Balzac's Illusions Perdues and Splendeurs et Misères des Courtisanes, Stendhal's Le Rouge et le Noir, Nerval's Sylvie and Flaubert's L'Education Sentimentale. The book is not merely expository however: one of the author's aims is to engage with much of the polemical debate which has surrounded the topic, in the belief that a recognition of the historical conditions determining both the theory and practice of mimesis must be recovered.