EDITH WHARTON
Edith Newbold Jones Wharton in hat with fur muff by Yale University, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1862-1937
Nationality: American
Literary Periods:
- American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930
- Modernist Period, 1899-1945
- Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
RELATED AUTHORS
- Henry James
- Fanny Burney
- George Eliot
- Flannery O'Conner
VIDEOS
SPACE
Plaque Edith Wharton, 3 place des États-Unis, Paris from Wikimedia Commons / Mu, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essay on the life and works of Edith Wharton, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
The Cambridge Introduction to Edith Wharton (2009) by
Born in New York into a world of wealth and privilege, and writing with unique insight into the lives of the rich and fashionable, Edith Wharton was a best-seller in her time, and is now, again, one of the most widely read American authors. This book provides an accessible and stimulating introduction to Wharton's life and writings, to help map her work for new readers, and to encourage more detailed exploration of her texts and contexts. Suggesting a range of perspectives on her most famous novels - The House of Mirth (1905), Ethan Frome (1911), The Custom of the Country (1913) and The Age of Innocence (1920) - it stimulates fresh lines of inquiry, examining these alongside other writings that are now attracting lively critical interest. With its clear structure, illustrations, and guide to further study, this book will form the ideal starting-point for students and for general readers.
Call Number: Miller PS3545.H16 Z6876 2009ISBN: 9780521867658
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Wharton scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
A Historical Guide to Edith Wharton (2003) by
Edith Wharton, arguably the most important American female novelist, stands at a particular historical crossroads between sentimental lady writer and modern professional author. Her ability to cope with this collision of Victorian and modern sensibilities makes her work especially interesting.Wharton also writes of American subjects at a time of great social and economic change-Darwinism, urbanization, capitalism, feminism, world war, and eugenics. She not only chronicles these changes in memorable detail, she sets them in perspective through her prodigious knowledge of history,philosophy, and religion. A Historical Guide to Edith Wharton provides scholarly and general readers with historical contexts that illuminate Wharton's life and writing in new, exciting ways. Essays in the volume expand our sense of Wharton as a novelist of manners and demonstrate her engagementwith issues of her day.
Call Number: Miller PS3545.H16 Z663 2003ISBN: 0195135903- The Cambridge Introduction to Edith Wharton (2009) by
Born in New York into a world of wealth and privilege, and writing with unique insight into the lives of the rich and fashionable, Edith Wharton was a best-seller in her time, and is now, again, one of the most widely read American authors. This book provides an accessible and stimulating introduction to Wharton's life and writings, to help map her work for new readers, and to encourage more detailed exploration of her texts and contexts. Suggesting a range of perspectives on her most famous novels - The House of Mirth (1905), Ethan Frome (1911), The Custom of the Country (1913) and The Age of Innocence (1920) - it stimulates fresh lines of inquiry, examining these alongside other writings that are now attracting lively critical interest. With its clear structure, illustrations, and guide to further study, this book will form the ideal starting-point for students and for general readers.
Call Number: Miller PS3545.H16 Z6876 2009ISBN: 9780521867658
Edith Wharton : a study of the short fiction (1991) by Call Number: Miller PS3545.H16 Z93 1991ISBN: 0805783407
Edith Wharton & Henry James, the story of their friendship (1965) by Call Number: Miller PS3545.H16 Z59
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
- The Age of Innocence [BOOK]Also Online | Miller Library PS3545.H16 A3
- The Buccaneers [BOOK]Miller Library PS3545.H16 B8
- Ethan Frome [BOOK]Miller Library PS3545.H16 E7 1950 | Also on Audiobook
- The House of Mirth [BOOK]Miller Library PS3545.H16 H6