FLANNERY O'CONNOR
Flannery-O'Connor 1947 by Cmacauley, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1925-1964
Nationality: American
Literary Periods:
American Confessional Period, 1960-
American Conformity and Criticism Period, 1930-1960
Postwar Period, 1945-1999
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
BIOGRAPHY
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essay on the life and works of Flannery O'Connor, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- The Cambridge Companion to American Fiction After 1945 [BOOK]Edited by John M. Duvall | Miller Library PS379 .C26 2012
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative O'Connor scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
The Added Dimension (1989) by
Melvin J. Friedman and Lewis A. Lawson give an overview of Flannery O'Connor's creative writing process in this read. They discuss the themes that are apparent in many of her short stories, including the American South and redemption. Through examining several of her works, they discuss the process and the fiction of this modern American female writer.
Call Number: Miller PS3565.C57 Z67 1977ISBN: 0823207110
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
A good man is hard to find : and other stories by Call Number: Miller PS3565.C57 G6
Flannery o'Connor: Collected Works (1988) by
In her short lifetime, Flannery O'Connor became one of the most distinctive American writers of the twentieth century. By birth a native of Georgia and a Roman Catholic, O'Connor depicts, in all its comic and horrendous incongruity, the limits of worldly wisdom and the mysteries of divine grace in the "Christ-haunted" Protestant South. This Library of America collection, the most comprehensive ever published, contains all of her novels and short-story collections, as well as nine other stories, eight of her most important essays, and a selection of 259 witty, spirited, and revealing letters, twenty-one published here for the first time. Her fiction brilliantly explores the human obsession with seemingly banal things. It might be a new hat or clean hogs or, for Hazel Motes, hero of Wise Blood (1952), an automobile. "Nobody with a good car needs to be justified," Hazel assures himself while using its hood for a pulpit to preach his "Church Without Christ." As in O'Connor's subsequent work, the characters in this novel are driven to violence, even murder, and their strong vernacular endows them with the discomforting reality of next-door neighbors. "In order to recognize a freak," she remarks in one of her essays, "you have to have a conception of the whole man." In the title story of her first, dazzling collection of stories, A Good Man Is Hard to Find (1955), the old grandmother discovers the comic irrelevance of good manners when she and her family meet up with the sinister Misfit, who claims there is "no pleasure but meanness." The terror of urban dislocation in "The Artificial Nigger," the bizarre baptism in "The River," or one-legged Hulga Hopewell's encounter with a Bible salesman in "Good Country People"--these startling events give readers the uneasy sense of mysteries about to be revealed. Her second novel, The Violent Bear It Away (1960), casts the shadow of the Old Testament across a landscape of backwoods shacks, modern towns, and empty highways. Caught between the prophetic fury of his great-uncle and the unrelenting rationalism of his uncle, fourteen-year-old Francis Tarwater undergoes a terrifying trial of faith when he is commanded to baptize his idiot cousin. The nine stories in Everything That Rises Must Converge (1965) show O'Connor's powers at their height. The title story is a terrifying, heart-rending drama of familial and racial misunderstanding. "Revelation" and "The Enduring Chill" probe further into conflicts between parental figures and recalcitrant offspring, where as much tension is generated from quiet conversation as from the physical violence of gangsters and fanatics. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Call Number: Miller PS3565 .C57 1988ISBN: 0940450372
