EUGENE O'NEILL
Eugene O'Neill 1936 by Nobel Foundation, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1907-1964
Nationality: American
Literary Movements:
Modernism
Naturalism
Literary Periods:
American Conformity and Criticism Period, 1930-1960
American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
header
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essay on the life and works of Eugene O'Neill, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to look at...
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative O'Neill scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to investigate...
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
- Anna Christie (Video)
Miller Library VIDEO 2285 (VCR tape) - Desire Under the Elms (Video)
Miller Video 1210
Selected Letters of Eugene O'Neill (1988) by
This book--published on the centenary of Eugene O'Neill's birth--contains the only comprehensive collection of his letters. Providing a representative selection of O'Neill's voluminous correspondence written over a fiftyyear period to intimate friends and family as well as to literary and theatrical personalities, the distinguished O'Neill scholars Travis Bogard and Jackson R. Bryer here offer through O'Neill's letters new and revealing insights into the highly private life and thoughts of America's greatest playwright.]]>
Call Number: Miller PS3529.N5 Z48 1988ISBN: 0300043740
The iceman cometh (2020) by ISBN: 9780300252811
Long Day's Journey into Night (2002) by
Winner of the 1957 Pulitzer Prize in Drama "The definitive edition."--Boston Globe Eugene O'Neill's autobiographical play Long Day's Journey into Night is regarded as his finest work. First published by Yale University Press in 1956, it won the Pulitzer Prize in 1957 and has since sold more than one million copies. This edition, which includes a new foreword by Harold Bloom, coincides with a new production of the play starring Brian Dennehy, which opens in Chicago in January 2002 and in New York in April. "By common consent, Long Day's Journey into Night isEugene O'Neill's masterpiece. . . . The helplessness of family love to sustain, let alone heal, the wounds of marriage, of parenthood, and of sonship, have never been so remorselessly and so pathetically portrayed, and with a force of gesture too painful ever to be forgotten by any of us."--Harold Bloom, from the foreword "Only an artist of O'Neill's extraordinary skill and perception can draw the curtain on the secrets of his own family to make you peer into your own. Long Day's Journey into Night is the most remarkable achievement of one of the world's greatest dramatists."--Jose Quintero "The play is an invaluable key to its author's creative evolution. It serves as the Rosetta Stone of O'Neill's life and art."--Barbara Gelb
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780300166224
