WILLIAM CARLOS WILLIAMS
William Carlos Williams passport photograph 1921 by Unknown author, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1883-1963
Nationality: American
Literary Movements:
- Modernism c.1899-1945
- Imagism
RELATED AUTHORS
- E.E. Cummings
- H.D.
- T.S. Eliot
- Ezra Pound
- Claude McKay
- Marianne Moore
- Gertrude Stein
- Wallace Stevens
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of William Carlos Williams, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on William Carlos Williams from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
William Carlos Williams and autobiography : the woods of his own nature (1990) by
The artist is always and forever painting only one thing: a self portrait. Beginning with these words of Williams's, Fisher-Wirth considers a number of Williams's writings as autobiography. The relatively conventional Autobiography of William Carlos Williams presents his career in public terms and suppresses the knowledge of both sex and death. At the other extreme, the play A Dream of Love is an intensely personal confession. Apart from these works, William Carlos Williams and Autobiography concentrates on Williams's poems. The early unpublished "Philip and Oradie" sends a persecuted and alienated prince on a grandiose, doomed quest. Reacting against this mode, Williams wrote "The Wanderer" in which he is baptized in the "filthy Passaic river" and emerges as the poet we know, whose identity is found through surrendering to the "weeds, bearing seeds," the flotsam of experience. He goes on to create a new kind of autobiography, focused on concrete objects of perception and only indirectly on the self. Williams's development culminates in "Asphodel, That Greeny Flower," the long, late love poem to his wife that unites public and private autobiographical desires and is his deepest and fullest autobiography.
Call Number: Colby PS3545.I544 Z58774 1989ISBN: 0271006536
The poems of William Carlos Williams : a critical study (1964) by Call Number: Colby PS3545.I544 Z93
PRIMARY SOURCES: IN PRINT
|
Archival Collections/Papers
|
You'll also want to check out...
The Collected Poems of William Carlos Williams (1986) by
So that readers could more fully understand the extent of Williams' radical simplicity, all of his published poetry, excluding Paterson, was reissued in two definite volumes, of which this is the first.
Call Number: Miller PS3545.I544 A17 1986ISBN: 0811209997
Asphodel, That Greeny Flower and Other Love Poems (1994) by
Besides being a practicing physician,William Carlos Williams (1883-1963) was a poet, short-story writer, novelist, translator, playwright, and essayist whose contribution to the development of modern American poetry grew out of his commitment to recording the local" experience of Rutherford, New Jersey, and its environs."
Call Number: Special Collection PORTER PS3545.I544 A9 1994ISBN: 0811212831
PRIMARY SOURCES: ONLINE
- Poetry texts available through Literature Online (LION)880 full-text poems
- Audio recordings from The Poetry Archive
- The Red Wheelbarrow
- The Yachts
- The Dance
- The Widow's Lament in Springtime
- Postlude
- Queen Anne's Lace
- To Elsie
- Audio recordings at PennSound
- The Library of Congress Recording Laboratory. May 5, 1945
- Library of Congress Recording Laboratory. October 18, 1947
- Pleasure Dome: an audible anthology of modern poetry read by its creators
- UCLA. November 15, 1950