WALT WHITMAN
Walt Whitman by John White Alexander, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1819-1892
Nationality: American/North American
Literary Periods:
- American Realistic Period, 1865-1900
- American Romantic Period, 1830-1865
- Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
HEAR WHITMAN SPEAK
Click to Play
Wax cylinder recording of Whitman reading four lines from "America"
For more information on this recording, see Ed Folsom, "The Whitman Recording," Walt Whitman Quarterly Review, 9 (Spring 1992), 214-16.
HEADER
Walt Whitman's signature Created in vector format by Scewing, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [DATABASE]
Essay on the life and works of Walt Whitman, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
-
Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia [BOOK]Edited by J.R. LeMaster, Donald D. Kummings (1998) | Miller Library PS3230 .W35 1998
-
A Historical Guide to Walt Whitman [E-BOOK]Edited by David S. Reynolds (2000)
-
A Concordance of Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass and Selected Prose Writings [BOOK SET]
By Harold Edwin Eby (1949-54) | Miller Library PS3245 .E2, pt. 1-5 -
Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
-
Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography [DATABASE]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Walt Whitman from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
Walt Whitman Quarterly Review [JOURNAL]
The Walt Whitman Quarterly Review is a literary quarterly sponsored by the Graduate College and the Department of English and published by The University of Iowa. WWQR is the official journal of the Walt Whitman Studies Association, affiliated with the American Literature Association. Searchable in MLA.
You'll also want to check out...
-
The Cambridge Companion to Walt Whitman [BOOK]Edited by Ezra Greenspan (1995) | Miller Library PS3238 .C16 1995
-
Walt Whitman: Critical Assessments [BOOK]
Edited by Graham Clarke (1994) | Miller Library PS3238 .W357 1994, v.1-4 -
Walt Whitman and the Critics: A Checklist of Criticism, 1900-1978 [BOOK]By Jeanetta Boswell (1980) | Miller Library Z8971.5 .B65
PRIMARY SOURCES
-
Intimate with Walt: Selections from Whitman's Conversations with Horace Traubel, 1888-1892 [E-BOOK]Edited by Gary Schmidgall (2001)
-
Walt Whitman: The Contemporary Reviews [BOOK]Edited by Kenneth M. Price (1996) | Miller Library PS3238 .W3693 1996
PRIMARY SOURCES FROM THE COLLECTED WRITINGS OF WALT WHITMAN
The Correspondence By Walt Whitman.
Edited by Edwin Haviland Miller. New York University Press: (1961-1977).
PRIMARY SOURCES FROM THE COLLECTED WRITINGS OF WALT WHITMAN
Prose Works 1892 by Walt Whitman.
Edited by Floyd Stovall. New York University Press: (1963-1964).
PRIMARY SOURCES FROM THE COLLECTED WRITINGS OF WALT WHITMAN
Daybooks and Notebooks by Walt Whitman.
Edited by William White. New York University Press: (1977-1978).
PRIMARY SOURCES FROM THE COLLECTED WRITINGS OF WALT WHITMAN
Notebooks and Unpublished Manuscripts by Walt Whitman.
Edited by Edward F. Grier. New York University Press: (1984).
PRIMARY SOURCES FROM THE COLLECTED WRITINGS OF WALT WHITMAN
Leaves of Grass: A Textual Varorium of the Printed Poems by Walt Whitman.
Edited by Bradkey Sculley. New York University Press (1980).
WEB
- The Walt Whitman Archive [WEB]Ed Folsom and Kenneth M. Price, Editors
- Revising Himself: Walt Whitman and Leaves of Grass [WEB]Materials from the Library of Congress exhibition, 2005
- Walt Whitman: Online Resources at the Library of Congress"The Library of Congress houses the largest archival collection of Walt Whitman materials in the world. As part of the Library's mission to make its resources available and useful to the American public, the Library has digitized a number of these materials, and has also created an array of online secondary sources that highlight Whitman's life and work. This guide compiles the many Whitman resources spread throughout the Library's Web site." -From site introduction
- The Classroom Electric: Dickinson, Whitman and American Culture"The Classroom Electric is a constellation of web sites on Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, and nineteenth-century American culture. Here users can explore images of original manuscripts, rare photographs, notebooks, scrapbooks, letters, and maps in sites informed by cutting-edge scholarship." -From site introduction