MARYSE CONDE
Maryse Conde 2006 by Andrew Levine, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1937-
Nationality: French/West Indian
Literary Periods:
- American Confessional Period, 1960-
- Postwar Period, 1945-1999
- Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
MARYSE CONDE LECTURE AT COLUMBIA
RELATED GUIDES
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Essay on the life and works of Maryse Conde, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]• Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 (2004) by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0415306868
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Maryse Conde from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]See "Criticism" for journal articles
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]See "Literature Criticism" for journal articles, "Reviews and News" for book reviews, and "Primary Sources" for interviews
Mother Imagery in the Novels of Afro-Caribbean Women (2001) by
Focusing on specific texts by Jamaica Kincaid, Maryse Condé, and Paule Marshall, this fascinating study explores the intricate trichotomous relationship between the mother (biological or surrogate), the motherlands Africa and the Caribbean, and the mothercountry represented by England, France, and/or North America. The mother-daughter relationships in the works discussed address the complex, conflicting notions of motherhood that exist within this trichotomy. Although mothering is usually socialized as a welcoming, nurturing notion, Alexander argues that alongside this nurturing notion there exists much conflict. Specifically, she argues that the mother-daughter relationship, plagued with ambivalence, is often further conflicted by colonialism or colonial intervention from the "other," the colonial mothercountry. Mother Imagery in the Novels of Afro-Caribbean Women offers an overview of Caribbean women's writings from the 1990s, focusing on the personal relationships these three authors have had with their mothers and/or motherlands to highlight links, despite social, cultural, geographical, and political differences, among Afro-Caribbean women and their writings. Alexander traces acts of resistance, which facilitate the (re)writing/righting of the literary canon and the conception of a "newly created genre" and a "womanist" tradition through fictional narratives with autobiographical components. Exploring the complex and ambiguous mother-daughter relationship, she examines the connection between the mother and the mother's land. In addition, Alexander addresses the ways in which the absence of a mother can send an individual on a desperate quest for selfhood and a home space. This quest forces and forges the creation of an imagined homeland and the re-validation of "old ways and cultures" preserved by the mother. Creating such an imagined homeland enables the individual to acquire "wholeness," which permits a spiritual return to the motherland, Africa via the Caribbean. This spiritual return or homecoming, through the living and practicing of the old culture, makes possible the acceptance and celebration of the mother's land. Alexander concludes that the mothers created by these authors are the source of diasporic connections and continuities. Writing/righting black women's histories as Kincaid, Condé, and Marshall have done provides a clearing, a space, a mother's land, for black women. Mother Imagery in the Novels of Afro-Caribbean Women will be of great interest to all teachers and students of women's studies, African American studies, Caribbean literature, and diasporic literatures.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780826213099
PRIMARY SOURCES
- Maryse Condé Speaks from the Heart [VHS]Interviewer: Ann Armstrong Scarboro
Interviewees: MaryseConde, Richard Philcox
Miller Library Video 5138
Tales from the Heart (2001) by
"Honest, exquisitely measured . . . inspiring in its reminder of the human spirit's capacity to endure."-"The New York Times Book Review" "[An] astute study of family and place."-"Washington Post Book World" In this collection of autobiographical essays, Maryse Conde vividly evokes the relationships and events that gave her childhood meaning: discovering her parents' feelings of alienation; her first crush; a falling out with her best friend; the death of her beloved grandmother; her first encounter with racism. These gemlike vignettes capture the spirit of Conde's fiction: haunting, powerful, poignant, and leavened with a streak of humor. Maryse Conde's previous work includes the novels "Windward Heights "and "Desirada," both available from Soho Press.
Call Number: Miller PQ3949.2.C65 Z46413 2001ISBN: 1569472645
Conversations with Maryse Conde (1996) by
This book is an exploration of the life and art of Maryse Condé, who first won international acclaim for Segu, a novel about West African experience and the slave trade. Born in Guadeloupe in 1937, Condé lived in Guinea after it won its independence from France. Later she lived in Ghana and Senegal during turbulent, decisive moments in the histories of these countries. Her writings--novels, plays, essays, stories, and children's books--have led her to an increasingly important role within Africa and throughout the world. Françoise Pfaff met Maryse Condé in 1981, when she first interviewed her. Their friendship grew quickly. In 1991 the two women continued recording conversations about Condé's geographical sojourns and literary paths, her personality, and her thoughts. Their conversations reveal connections between Condé's vivid art and her eventful, passionate life. In her encounters with historical and literary figures, and in her opinions on politics and culture, Condé appears as an engaging witness to her time. The conversations frequently sparkle with hum∨ at other moments they are infused with profound seriousness. Maryse Condé is the recipient of the French literary awards Le Grand Prix Littéraire de la Femme and Le Prix de l'Académie Française. She currently teaches at Columbia University and her most recent works include Tree of Life and Crossing the Mangrove.
Call Number: Miller PQ3949.2.C65 Z46613 1996ISBN: 0803237138
