Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish: SP 244

For Reference

CREDO REFERENCE - a collection of online encyclopedias

 
"Latin American Cinema" in Oxford Bibliographies Online (note list of related OBO articles).

Periodical Databases

Be sure to check the lefthand sidebars of the databases below for limiting parameters -- date, document type, etc. These tools can help you!

ProQuest Screen Studies Collection -- an excellent place to look for reviews and studies on films. Coverage of some periodicals extends back through the middle of the 20th century

MLA - for critical interpretations of literature and film

IIPA - for performing arts

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) - an index with citations to articles from scholarly periodicals in the humanities and the social sciences.

Academic Search Complete - contains a selection of academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers

ProQuest Newsstand -- International papers, which may have more reviews

Guide to Historical Newspapers  -- LA Times and others may have reviews contemporary with older films

Hispanic American Newspapers  -- 19th & 20th century up to 1980

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More Resources

Cinegogía  -- a website full of helpful resources

online Journals

LACMAB -- an annotated listing of bibliographic resources

National databases -- information on films, organized by country, especially:

Film database -- Latin American filmography indexed for searching or browsing by topic

Other Library Guides

For even more resources, check out these Colby Library Guides:

1-Minute Videos on Using Library Resources

Steps

   

 

Steps for Research & Essay Writing

  • Read the Assignment Handbook carefully. Consider carefully what persuasive thesis, coherent argument, and course themes you want to develop further into an essay, while utilizing your critical editing skills in Spanish.
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in, along with what course texts might appropriately be referenced.
  • Look up background information in the reference sources at left
  • Use terminology and context learned from background sources to search for more peer-reviewed articles in recommended journals and periodical databases (see boxes at left). 
  • Search for books (memoirs, collections of letters, biographies, diaries, special histories)  in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Search for films and media in Colby's catalog and in the Colby Hispanic Media Resources database.

And if you have any questions....

Ask your librarian!  Karen Gillum  kjgillum@colby.edu        

 Laine Thielstrom, librarian for Cinema Studies, is also happy to help you -  esthiels@colby.edu

Find Books and Media

  • CBBcat - The Library Catalog of Colby, Bates & Bowdoin
    Search for books, videos and more.

How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat

How to sign up for ILLiad

For Help Using the Library Website

Searching Tips:

  • Use quotes to glue a phrase together. E.g., "Mexican Revolution"
  • Use an asterisk as a wild card to cover word variations. E.g., Latin* (for Latino, Latina, Latinas)
  • Broaden your search by using OR with parentheses. E.g., (film OR cinema). Results can contain either term.
  • Narrow your search by using AND. E.g., Morales AND film. Results must contain both terms.
  • Find one good item? Click on a record's Subject Headings to find similar material. (See below)
  • To expand your reach, sign up for ILLiad, our Interlibrary loan service. (Articles are delivered electronically, often within a day.)

CBBcat Subject Headings

Click on these links to find similar books and videos. CBBcat uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Unfortunately, these headings sometimes use outdated terminology, but once identified they can often provide much more precise search results than using keywords. Examples of LOC Subject Headings:

Also try subject searches using Motion Pictures AND individual country names.
 
For gender-related topics, try these subject headings:

 

Remember that terminology in these headings is slow to change, so do not be surprised at vocabulary that may be very out of date.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next