Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Asian Studies: EA 493 '20

This page offers...

...lists of catalog subject headings and database resources suggested for your topics. Consult also the pages Getting Started, NewsResearching & Reading, Citations in Brief, and Citation Examples. Note also: this guide to Chicago style for sources in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, from Yale.

Please do also contact me with any questions: email = kjgillum@colby.edu    Karen Gillum, liaison librarian to East Asian Studies

Going Further

Expand your search to include articles by using OneSearch

Extend your search to libraries worldwide with WorldCat

How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat

How to sign up for ILLiad  NOTE: this semester ILL is available only for articles and book chapters, not for physical books

For Help Using the Library Website


Research Strategy

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • For background information or fast facts use Credo Reference or print dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Use terminology and facts learned to search for articles in the Bibliography of Asian Studies, Academic Search Complete and other databases. Articles present an argument on a particular aspect of a topic.
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking.
  • Search for images in ArtStor and web sources.
  • Whenever you use web browsers, make sure to notice the url and consider what type of entity has created the web pages you are looking at. Try using Google Advanced Search, and Google Advanced Image Search.
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

Databases

 

Databases and Useful Search Terms

General 

  • Global Newsstream - US and international papers. Coverage varies from 30+ years to current year only.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies -  from 1971 to the present; likely to be useful for any research related to contemporary topics in East Asian Studies.
  • Credo - hundreds of encyclopedias, for factual reference and broad background
  • OneSearch - searches CBBcat together with all databases. Use when1) you have the exact title of an article 2) you are not finding good results for your cross-disciplinary topic in subject-specific databases

  • JSTOR - articles in scholarly journals across a broad range of humanistic disciplines; generally does not include the most recent 5 years
  • Project MUSE - scholarly articles in humanities and social science disciplines, up to date
  • Academic Search Complete - academic articles from journals and books, plus magazines and newspapers
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - ProQuest's collection of dissertations and theses, many available in full text, with international coverage from 1861 to the present.

Gay Marriage in Taiwan

Why Become A Hostess? (Japan)

 

 

Tourism in Rural China

Government sites:

Aging within China's Ethnic Minorities

Government sites:

Pre-School English Learning in Japan

Government sites:

Haafu/Hafu and Mixed Race People in Japan

 "Taiwan is Taiwan": Tracing the Evolution of Taiwanese National Identity

 

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next