Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Encyclopedias (Print)

Encyclopedias

  • REF BF 31 .C72 1999
    Corsini, Raymond J. The Dictionary of Psychology. Philadelphia: Brunner Mazel, 1999. Very brief definitions for a large number of terms. Appendices include a list of prefixes and suffixes, DSM-IV terms, Greek letters, systems of treatment, instruments, symbols, and brief biographies.

  • REF RC 437 .H5 2004
    Campbell, Robert. Psychiatric Dictionary 8th ed.
    NY: Oxford University Press, 2004
    Almost 10,000 entries for terms from psychiatry and related fields. Historical and obsolescent terms are included and marked.

  • REF BF 31 .E52 2000
    Kazdin, Alan E., ed. Encyclopedia of Psychology, 8 volumes.
    Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 2000
    Signed entries with bibliographies. International in scope. The best place to start when searching for information or choosing a topic.

  • REF H 41 .I58 2001
    Smelser, Neil J. and Paul B. Baltes, eds. International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 26 vols.
    New York: Elsevier, 2001.

  • REF RA 790.5 .E53 1998
    Friedman, Howard S., ed. Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 3 volumes.
    New York: Academic Press, 1998
    Lengthy signed articles with bibliographies. Analysis of topics from biological as well as cultural points of view. Definitions of key terms begin each entry.

  • REF BF 1078 .E63 1993
    Carskadon, Mary, ed. Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming.
    New York: Macmillan, 1993
    Articles on all aspects of sleep research, with bibliographies. Thematic entries and the subject index help with navigation.

  • REF BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
    Sheehy, Noel. Biographical Dictionary of Psychology.
    NY:  Routledge, 1997
    Covers from early Greeks to (deceased) contemporary theorists and practitioners, providing career information, contributions, and additional biographical sources.

  • REF BF 109 .A1 W65 1990
    OÍConnell, Agnes & Nancy Felipe Russo. Women in Psychology.
    Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990
    Entries on women, living and dead, who have contributed to the field. Family background, career, achievements, and contributions are rounded out with a partial bibliography of writings both by and about the individual.

  • REF BF 76.7 .P83 2001
    American Psychological Association. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 5th ed.
    Washington, DC: APA, 2001
    Standards and procedures for writing in the discipline, including citations, footnotes, and bibliographies. Copies are available at the Reference Desk and the Reserve Desk.

  • REF BF 39 .E497 2003
    Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
    Thousand Oaks:  Sage, 2003
    Discusses instruments, theories, and histories of psychological assessment.

Your Librarian

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next