It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AnthroSourceFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
ScopusThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
ATLA Religion DatabaseAn index of scholarly articles, reviews, and essays on religion and theology, primarily covering 1949 to the present.
UN Official DocumentsCovers official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. Includes Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 to the present.
AccessUN (1945 - Present)An index of United Nations documents -- covering international economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian issues -- published from 1944 to the present.
Articles in scholarly/academic journals, especially PEER-REVIEWEDjournals are particularly important to college research. They:
provide in-depth analysis or report original research
use in-text citations and bibliographies
are written by and for scholars
Look for options in databases to limit your results to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Chicago Citation Style
The Chicago Citation Style has two systems. The Author-Date system is commonly used for Anthropology.
by Karen Gillum
Last Updated Mar 17, 2021
1765 views this year
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryAn online edition of the five-volume reference work covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present, with biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces addressing the cultural roots and current conditions of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of IslamAn online encyclopedia covering current knowledge of the Islamic world, including articles on the history of Islam, the Muslim people, and Islamic theology.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureOnline edition of the reference work providing a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistory to the present, with articles covering cultural issues and biographical profiles of important figures in art and politics.
Encyclopedia of ReligionAn online edition of the reference work on religion and its place in everyday life across world cultures.