Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Encyclopedias of Specific Religions (Online & Print)

Encyclopedias for Specific Religions

ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd Edition

This is a second edition of Eliade's famous work.  Essential coverage of all aspects of religion.

Encyclopedia of Islam (online)

Encyclopedia of Sikhism

New Catholic Encyclopedia -- 2nd Edition

New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement:  Jubilee Volume

New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement:  2009

New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement:  2010

New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement:  2011

New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement:  2012-13

REF DS 102.8 .E496 2007
Encyclopaedia Judaica.  2d ed. NY: Macmillan, 2007.  Also available online.

 

PRINT

REF BL 2462.5 .E53 2001
Glazier, Stephen D. Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions. NY: Routledge, 2001.

REF BP 327 .A33 1998
Adamson, Hugh C. & Philip Hainsworth. Historical Dictionary of the Baha'i Faith. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

REF BQ 130 .K46 2003
Keown, Damien.  Dictionary of Buddhism. NY:  Oxford, 2003.

REF BS 440 .A54 1992
Freedman, David Noel. The Anchor Bible Dictionary. NY: Doubleday, 1992.

REF BR 95 .E8913 1999
The Encyclopedia of Christianity. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1999.

REF BS 491.2 .N484 1994
The New Interpreter's Bible. Ashville: Abingdon Press, 1994.

REF BX 841 .N44 2003
New Catholic Encyclopedia.  2d ed. NY: McGraw Hill, 2003.

REF BL 2003 .W47 1994
Werner, Karel. A Popular Dictionary of Hinduism. Richmond: Curzon Press Ltd., 1994.

REF DS 37 .E523
Gibb, H.A.R., ed. Encyclopedia of Islam. Leiden: Brill, 1960.

REF BP 40 .O35 2003
Esposito, John L., ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Islam. NY: Oxford, 2003.

REF DS 35.53 .O95 1995
Esposito, John L. Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. NY: Oxford, 1995.

REF BM 50 .O94 1997
Werblowsky, R.J. Zwi, ed. The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion. NY: Oxford, 1997.

REF BM 50 .R43 2000
Terry, Michael, ed. Reader's Guide to Judaism. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.

REF BX 8605.5 .E62 1992b
Ludlow, David H., ed. Encyclopedia of Mormonism. NY: Macmillan, 1992.

REF BL 2017.3 .D64 1995b
Dogra, Ramesh Chander. Encyclopedia of Sikh Religion and Culture. New Delhi: Vikas Publishing House, 1995.

REF BL 2017.3 .E63 1992
Singh, Harbans, ed. The Encyclopedia of Sikhism. Patiala: Punjab University, 1995.

REF BL 1923 .P37 1998
Pas, Julian F. Historical Dictionary of Taoism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

REF BF 1566 .G85 1999
Guiley, Rosemary Ellen The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft 2nd ed. NY: Facts On File, 1999.

Your Librarian

Karen Gillum's picture
Karen Gillum
Contact:
Miller Library 107B
kjgillum@colby.edu

In-office hours: generally, M 11:00-2:00; W 11:00-2:00; Th 11:00-2:00 I may be briefly absent for testing during these times.
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next