Colby Library Guides: Latin American Studies
Includes primary source material from these archives and collections.
- Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
- Salalm
- Center for Research Libraries
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection
- Princeton University Digital Archive
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
- Hathi Trust
- Historical newspapers and magazines
- and other regional collections
- Latin American Studies Guide Home page has useful portals to information about Latin America and key databases for secondary sources
- Latin American Databases by Subject In the Colby Libraries A-Z list of databases, use the subject drop-down and select Latin American Studies to find databases the contain both primary and secondary sources.
LANIC: Archives & Digitized Collections in the U.S. & Latin America
- LANIC - Archives Since 1992, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center. Although not actively updated since July 2015, their Archives page has links to archives in the U.S. and Latin America.
- LANIC Digital Initiatives LANIC hosts an extensive set of digital collections covering many different topics and content areas.
Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary Sources - Documents & artifacts created at or near the time of an event. The memories and recollections of people who experienced or witnessed the event are also primary sources. Examples include:
- Diaries/Journals
- Letters/Correspondence
- Interviews/Oral histories
- Witness/Eyewitness accounts
- Personal narratives
- Official records (government documents, business records, organizational reports, etc.)
- Newspaper or magazine articles written at the time
Secondary Sources - Writings after the fact by people who did not experience the event. This includes the scholarly analysis found in journal articles.
