Find Scholarly Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database covers historical topics from 1450 to the present. It includes citations to articles in over 2,000 journals - covering 1954 to the present.
Articles in scholarly journals are part of a scholarly conversation.
Scholarly journals...
- report original research in a specific discipline
- use in-text citations and bibliographies
- typically contain peer-reviewed articles
In databases, look for: 
Reference, Overviews & Background Information
Miller Library's Reading Room (go straight after entering the library) contains many useful reference volumes, including historical dictionaries and encyclopedias on Judaism, World War II, the Third Reich, and Russian & Soviet history. Check under the letter "D" (look at tags on the books' bindings) for history-focused items, but related material may be in other sections of the room.
E-Reference:
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The full text online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains both the complete Second Edition and the New Edition in progress.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window Online access to texts in the Cambridge Histories series, with titles organized by subject, including American history, British history, philosophy, religion, science, and literature.
- Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window A search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
The Holocaust EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2001, Yale University Press
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust StudiesPublication Date: 2011
Related Subject Guides
The Holocaust and Genocide in Europe
Photo: Wolfgang Staudt: Holocaust-Denkmal (Flickr Creative Commons)
Primary Sources: Historical Newspapers & Magazines
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window A searchable collection of historical U.S. newspapers spanning the period of 1690 to 1922, including thousands of small-town papers from all 50 states.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window "This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage includes the modernist movement in art and culture.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window The Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
- British Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window Scanned versions of the full texts of over 500 British periodicals dating from the 17th century to the early 20th, with coverage of topics such as literature, science, and the arts.
- Newspaper GuideFor more newspapers, check this guide and note the Historical Newspapers tab.
Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary Sources - Documents & artifacts created at or near the time of an event. The memories and recollections of people who experienced or witnessed the event are also primary sources. Examples include:
- Diaries/Journals
- Letters/Correspondence
- Interviews/Oral histories
- Witness/Eyewitness accounts
- Personal narratives
- Official records
- Newspaper or magazine articles written at the time
Secondary Sources - Writings after the fact by people who did not experience the event. This includes the scholarly analysis found in journal articles.
Writing & Citation Help
- Purdue OWL The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
The Chicago Manual of StylePublication Date: 2017This 2017 edition of the guide has updated information on PDF annotation, citation management, and effective use of keywords. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.
Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies. Our Citation Software guide can help you decide which to use.
Library Video Tutorials
For more information about library resources, check out our Video Tutorial Guide:
Find Books
SEARCH our library catalog for books and media.
First drop down: Search by Keyword, Title, Author (last name first) or Subject.
Second drop down: Search the entire CBB Collection or limit by item type or location.
To order items from Colby Storage, Bates or Bowdoin, click on: 
Start with a keyword search and look for subject headings in item records. Try both for best results.
Good Research Takes Time
Keep a research log
Experiment with search terms
Check multiple resources
Carefully evaluate all materials
Photo: Clock Roskilde University by nikolainewyork
