These are just a few of the many collections available to you; ask a librarian to help you find more!
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowA large digital collection of early English news media, consisting of about 1,270 titles and one million pages gathered by the Reverend Carles Burney in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
Accessible Archives CompleteThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a number of historical U.S. periodicals, with a focus on texts providing unique windows into historical events and daily life in the early United States. Topics covered include slavery, the Civil War, and women's rights.
Ancestry LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAncestry.com's online search tool, providing access to a collection of documents -- including census data, birth, marriage, and death records, almanacs, and newspapers -- meant to facilitate genealogical research.
Archives UnboundThis link opens in a new windowTopically focused digital collections of historical documents on a variety of subjects, spanning the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Early English Books OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of digitized early English-language books, including virtually every such work published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from from 1473 to 1700.
Eight CenturiesThis link opens in a new windowEight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and other publications from the 18th century, primarily in the English language.
Fold3This link opens in a new windowFold3 provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Harper's Weekly (Harpweek) 1857-1912This link opens in a new windowHistorical archive of issues of Harper's Weekly dating from 1857 to 1912, with sections covering the Civil War era (1857-1965), Reconstruction (1866-1877), and the Gilded Age (1878-1912).
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)This link opens in a new windowA collection of datasets for research in the social sciences, with sets in a range of disciplines including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.
International Historical StatisticsThis link opens in a new windowAn online edition of the reference work presenting statistical data collected between 1750 and 2010 and covering a variety of topics of interest to researchers in sociology, politics, economics, business, environment, and international relations.
Maine Memory NetworkThis link opens in a new windowA statewide digital museum of over 12,000 historical items, including rare photographs, documents, artifacts and online exhibits from over 180 museums, historical societies, libraries, and other organizations.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new window"Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture—both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and a massive explosion of written material that dwarfed the output of the centuries that preceded it."
PAO - Periodicals Archive OnlineThis link opens in a new window"Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages."
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700This link opens in a new windowThe Perdita Project rediscovers early modern women authors whose works were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926This link opens in a new windowSabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s containing information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
State Papers Online: The Tudors 1509-1603This link opens in a new window"State Papers Online, 1509 -1714, published in four seamless Parts, offers researchers a ground-breaking online resource for understanding two hundred years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. The largest digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online, 1509-1714 gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. As such, it radically transforms and simplifies the process of research, offering Early Modern scholars unprecedented access to the behind the scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments. "
Witchcraft in Europe and AmericaThis link opens in a new window"The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms."
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)This link opens in a new windowA resource for primary source documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000, this collection provides information on women's reform activities by bringing together books, images, and full-text documents as well as scholarly essays, a chronology of U.S. women's history, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a bibliography, and teaching tools.
Coverage: 1600-2000
European Views of the Americas 1493-1750A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, currently containing more than 32,000 entries. It was created form "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," a well-known authoritative bibliography co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library.
Fordham Internet History SourcebookA collection of lists of links to primary texts covering a wide range of time periods, regions, and themes. Since this is a portal only, many links may be broken, but those which are active can still be very useful. Topical collections include "Travelers Accounts" LGBT history, and legal history, ancient and medieval.
London's PulseFrom smallpox to sun lamps, the health of London and Londoners over 125 years is uncovered in over 5000 fully searchable reports, from 1848 to 1973, detailing the health of Londoners in intimate detail – borough by borough and often street by street - written by the people responsible for keeping the city healthy over a period of drastic social, economic and technological change. The reports also offer an unparalleled insight into Londoners’ lives. From weather reports to sanitary conditions, the MOHs covered a dizzying array of topics. They contain details of London’s lost trades, such as hair-merchants and pigeon-fatteners, provide reports on the conditions of child-workers in factories and families in slum housing, and trace Londoners’ changing tastes in fast-food from oysters to Chinese takeaways. The digitised pages allow for data mining, close reading, embedding and free downloading of all pages from the reports.
