Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)This link opens in a new windowFrom its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans not to “spend your money where you can’t work,” the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community. By accessing more than 70 years of cover-to-cover reporting, today’s readers view the Depression through the eyes of African-Americans in the 1930s. They can follow the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s. Researchers can follow Roy Wilkins’ column, “The Watchtower,” and see how he attacked efforts to label civil rights activists as “communists” during the Cold War. Today, this independent publication continues to cover community and world issues from the unique cultural perspective of the Los Angeles African-American community.
New York Times 1980 to CurrentThis link opens in a new window"This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history."
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
Wall Street Journal (current issues)This link opens in a new windowIndexing to and full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984.
Accessible Archives CompleteThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a number of historical U.S. periodicals, with a focus on texts providing unique windows into historical events and daily life in the early United States. Topics covered include slavery, the Civil War, and women's rights.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998This link opens in a new windowOnline access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of historical U.S. newspapers spanning the period of 1690 to 1922, including thousands of small-town papers from all 50 states.
Current Digest of the Russian PressThis link opens in a new windowThe Current Digest carried translations of all important documents of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and the Soviet government, providing an impressive documentary record of:
* all significant speeches by Soviet leaders;
* meetings of all Party congresses, including the 1956 20th Party Congress and Nikita Khrushchev’s “secret speech” denouncing the Stalinist “cult of personality”;
* all five-year plans and reports on plan fulfillment;
* all important Soviet laws, including initial drafts, official public discussion of the drafts, and final versions as adopted by the USSR Supreme Soviet;
* Soviet diplomacy, Soviet-US summits and other meetings of Soviet leaders with their foreign counterparts;
* all Soviet treaties, including arms-control treaties, and all major foreign-policy developments, from the Cuban missile crisis through the Soviet war in Afghanistan and withdrawal from that country.
Eastern Mail (Waterville, ME)This link opens in a new windowThe Eastern Mail was a weekly newspaper published by Ephraim Maxham (later Maxham and Wing) in Waterville, Maine, USA. The paper, first printed on July 19, 1847, continues The Waterville Union, published by Charles F. Hathaway beginning in April 1847. The Eastern Mail became The Waterville Mail starting with the September 4, 1863 issue.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsThis link opens in a new windowThis is an ongoing project to digitize all FBIS documents, which should be complete by the end of 2009. Beginning in the fall of 2009, the project is being expanded backward in monthly releases and will eventually extend back to 1941. This extension is expected to proceed over about two years. To search a comprehensive index of FBIS Daily Reports, including those not yet in full text online, please use the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index. http://0-infoweb.newsbank.com.library.colby.edu/?db=FBIS
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)This link opens in a new windowHispanic newspapers reflect a long tradition of Spanish-language press in the western hemisphere. In the United States, the Hispanic press plays a vital role in the lives of immigrants, exiles and native Hispanic peoples alike. Often illustrated with photographic documentation, Hispanic American newspapers reveal the rich history of a people who have long resided in and contributed to the American public sphere. For more than two centuries, they have united Spanish speakers and preserved their cultural heritage through news, editorials and literature as well as by providing leadership, solidifying communities and spearheading social movements.
Historical NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowDigitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
Latin American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Maine Newsstand (see US Northeast Newsstream)This link opens in a new windowNO LONGER AVAILABLE, AS OF 2/18. Selected articles from the Bangor Daily News, Kennebec Journal, Morning Sentinel (Waterville), Portland Press Herald, and Sun Journal (Lewiston).
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
Waterville MailThis link opens in a new windowThe Waterville Mail was a weekly newspaper published in Waterville, Maine, USA between September 1863 and May 1906. The paper continues The Eastern Mail (1847-1863). Note that there are a few gaps in Colby’s holdings, most notably 15 issues between September and December, 1886 and 31 issues spanning June through December, 1892.
World Newspaper Archive, African NewspapersThis link opens in a new window"This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries."
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch historical major US newspapers: New York Times, Boston Globe, Wall Street Journal, L.A. Times, Washington Post in one search.
Center for Research Libraries Newspaper CollectionSearch here for national and international historical newspapers. Most will be on microfilm; you may borrow these from the Center through your ILLIad interlibrary loan account. An excellent source for more obscure sources.
