D.H. LAWRENCE
D.H. Lawrence by Unknown author (passport office), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1885-1930
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Edwardian Period, 1901-1914
Inter-War Period, 1918-1939
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Literary Movements:
Imagism; Lesbian/Gay Writing, 1885-
Modernism c.1899-1945
BIOGRAPHY
D.H. Lawrence: A Biography by Call Number: Storage
PR6023.A93 Z68118 1990
Also available at Bates and Bowdoin
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of D.H. Lawrence, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
D. H. Lawrence (1996) by
D.H. Lawrence remains one of the most popular and studied authors of the 20th century. This book is a comprehensive but easy to use reference guide to Lawrence's life, works, and critical reception. The volume has been systematically structured to convey a coherent overall sense of Lawrence's achievement and critical reputation, but it is also designed to enable the reader who may be interested in only one aspect of Lawrence's career, perhaps even in only one of his novels or stories, to find relevant information quickly and easily without having to read other parts of the text. The book begins with an original biography by John Worthen, one of the world's foremost authorities on Lawrence's life and work. The chapters that follow provide separate entries for all of Lawrence's works, except for individual poems and paintings, with critical summaries, discussions of characters, and details of settings. There is also a complete overview of Lawrence and film, with the most complete listing available of film adaptations of his works and of criticism relating to them. Each section of the book provides comprehensive primary and secondary bibliographical data, including citations for the most recent scholarly studies. Maps and chronologies further trace Lawrence's travels and his development over time.
Call Number: PR6023.A93 Z99 1996ISBN: 9780313286377
A Concordance to the Poetry of D. H. Lawrence (1970) by Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z49ISBN: 0803207689
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Lawrence scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
War Trauma and English Modernism (2011) by
This is the first book to consistently read English Modernist literature as testimony to trauma of the First and Second World Wars. Focusing upon T.S. Eliot and D.H. Lawrence, it examines the impact of war upon their lives and their strategies to resist it through literary innovation.
Call Number: Miller PR888.W65 K76 2011ISBN: 9780230291577
Mechanic Modernism: The Deleuzian Literary Machines of Woolf, Lawrence, and Joyce (2008) by
How can the concepts of Deleuze and Guattari be used to unearth the 'metaphysics' of modernist literature? This intersection of philosophy and key literary works uses their radical concepts to draw a dynamic map of modernism that explores the confrontation of each writer with the non-human machine age of the early twentieth-century.
Call Number: Miller PR478.M6 M66 2008ISBN: 9780230219366
Radical Modernism and Sexuality: Freud, Reich, D.H. Lawrence and Beyond (2005) by
A bold, sweeping reassessment of modernism, Seelow challenges standard versions of postmodernism, instead offering his notion of radical modernism. Presenting a provocative thesis through stimulating reconsiderations of three related but different radical moderns: Sigmund Freud, Wilhelm Reich, and D.H. Lawrence. Defining sexuality as modernism's core feature, Seelow situates Freud, Reich and Lawrence as frontier thinkers. Starting with a history of sexuality as both phenomenon and field of study Seelow then discloses Freud's theory of sexuality's masochistic underpinnings. Reich's materialist thought, which radicalizes Freud's libido theory while fashioning an emancipatory sense of self, is also offered. Radical theories also illuminate Lady Chatterley's Lover , and many of Lawrence's great short works. Finally, Seelow, following Julia Kristeva's recent work, stresses the value of revolt in preserving the life of the mind in a morally devalued world.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z868 2005ISBN: 9781403966292
D. H. Lawrence's Language of Sacred Experience (2005) by
This book demonstrates how D.H. Lawrence's prophetic ambitions impelled him to create novels that would radically transform the consciousness of his readers. Charles Burack argues that Lawrence's major novels, beginning with The Rainbow , are structured as religious initiation rites that attempt to break down the reader's normative mindset and to evoke new, numinous experiences of self and world. Through careful analysis of narrative structure, literary technique, and sacred discourses, Burack shows that Lawrence tries to initiate the reader into his own version of religious vitalism. Unlike most initiations that conclude with powerful affirmations, Lawrence's novels generally end with an attempt to subvert the formation of new religious dogmas and to encourage sacred-erotic exploration.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z573 2005ISBN: 1403968454
The Complete Critical Guide to D.H. Lawrence (2002) by
So many questions surround the key figures in the English literary canon, but most books focus on one aspect of an author's life or work, or limit themselves to a single critical approach. D. H. Lawrence is a comprehensive, user-friendly guide which: * offers basic information on Lawrence's, contexts and works * outlines the major critical issues surrounding his works, from the time they were written to the present * explain the full range of often very different critical views and interpretation * offer guides to further reading in each area discussed. This guidebook has a broad focus but one very clear aim: to equip you with all the knowledge you need to make your own new readings of the work of D. H. Lawrence.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z56645 2002ISBN: 0415202515
Modernism, Narrative and Humanism (2002) by
In Modernism, Narrative and Humanism, Paul Sheehan attempts to redefine modernist narrative for the twenty-first century. For Sheehan modernism presents a major form of critique of the fundamental presumptions of humanism. By pairing key modernist writers with philosophical critics of the humanist tradition, he shows how modernists sought to discover humanism's inhuman potential. He examines the development of narrative during the modernist period and sets it against, among others, the nineteenth-century philosophical writings of Schopenhauer , Darwin and Nietzsche. Focusing on the major novels and poetics of Conrad, Lawrence, Woolf and Beckett, Sheehan investigates these writers' mistrust of humanist orthodoxy and their consequent transformations and disfigurations of narrative order. He reveals the crucial link between the modernist novel's narrative concerns and its philosophical orientation in a book that will be of compelling interest to scholars of modernism and literary theory.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780521814577
The Cambridge Companion to D. H. Lawrence (2001) by
The Cambridge Companion to D. H. Lawrence contains fourteen chapters by leading international scholars. They offer a series of alternative perspectives on one of the most important and controversial writers of the twentieth century. These specially-commissioned essays offer diverse and stimulating readings of Lawrence's major novels, short stories, poetry and plays, and place Lawrence's writing in a variety of literary, cultural, and political contexts, such as modernism, sexual and ethnic identity, and psychoanalysis. The concluding chapter addresses the vexed history of Lawrence's critical reception throughout the twentieth century. The volume, which will be of interest to scholars and students alike, features a detailed chronology and a comprehensive guide to further reading.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z595 2001ISBN: 0521623391
The Critical Response to D. H. Lawrence (2001) by
The works of D.H. Lawrence have always generated critical controversy. From the early prosecution of The Rainbow (1915) to more recent disputes about feminist criticism, Lawrence engenders strong feelings, both for and against his writings. His appeal, both artistic and intellectual, knows no boundaries. His works remain in print and are widely taught, anthologized, and translated around the world. So too, his texts have engaged some of the best critical minds, and scholarship on Lawrence and his works continues to grow. This reference chronicles the critical response to his writings. A chronology presents the highlights in his publishing career, while an introductory essay summarizes the major trends in Lawrence criticism. The sections that follow present previously published reviews and essays on his novels, plays, poems, short fiction, and prose and letters. These items are arranged chronologically to illustrate the response to Lawrence over time. The volume closes with a selected, general bibliography.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z62327 2001ISBN: 0313308535
A Route to Modernism (2000) by
The question "What is modernism?" has provoked intense critical discussion.A Route to Modernism explores this question; it focuses on the strange and dangerous journey taken by Hardy, Lawrence, and Woolf towards unknown regions of the mind and the universe. In a discussion of these novelists, both individually and in relation to one another, a radical reconsideration of modernism is developed. This book shows a hypothetical train of Hardy, Lawrence, and Woolf not following an existing track but tunneling beneath surfaces, following routes which are "spasmodic, fragmentary," sometimestaking off like a rocket into the cosmos.
Call Number: Miller PR888.M63 S86 2000ISBN: 0312224230
The Vital Art of D. H. Lawrence (1999) by
D. H. Lawrence, asserts Jack Stewart, expresses a painter's vision in words, supplementing visual images with verbal rhythms. With the help of twenty-three illustrations, Stewart examines Lawrence's painterly vision in The White Peacock, Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, Women in Love, Kangaroo, and The Plumed Serpent. He concludes by synthesizing the themes that pervade this interarts study: vision and expression, art and ontology. &
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0585112428
PRIMARY SOURCES
The Frieda Lawrence collection of D.H. Lawrence manuscripts : a descriptive bibliography (1948) by Call Number: Colby PR6023.A93 Z99 1948
The Letters of D. H. Lawrence (1979) by
Volume I of the Letters, edited by James T. Boulton, gives the first 580 letters in the series, covering the period September 1901 to May 1913. This is the time of Lawrence's youth in Eastwood, his first year out of England - in Italy with Frieda - to the publication of Sons and Lovers. There are letters to his early loves, Jessie Chambers, Louie Burrows and Helen Corke. He writes The White Peacock, The Trespasser, Sons and Lovers, the early stories and poems. He is welcomed into the literary world by editors such as Ford and Garnett; he meets Pound and other writers; he reads widely. His mother dies; he grows away from the younger women; he meets Frieda and elopes with her. Professor Boulton's discreet annotation conceals an enormous labour of patient detection. There are over thirty photographs of his friends and correspondents and a newly discovered portrait miniature of Lawrence.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z48 1979 v.1 - v.8ISBN: 0521221471
The Selected Letters of D. H. Lawrence (1997) by
An authoritative selection of letters by one of the great English letter-writers, first published in 1997, is also available in paperback.
Call Number: Miller PR6023.A93 Z48 1997ISBN: 0521401151
D.H. Lawrence, interviews and recollections (1981) by Call Number: Colby PR6023.A93 Z62339 1981 v.1 - v.2ISBN: 0389200700
