E.M. FORSTER
E.M. Forster by Dora Carrington (1893–1932), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1879-1970
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Edwardian Period, 1901-1914
Inter-War Period, 1918-1939
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Literary Movements:
Bloomsbury Group, ca. 1905-1940
Lesbian/Gay Writing, 1885-
Modernism c.1899-1945
Postcolonialism, 20th Century
BIOGRAPHY
E.M. Forster: A Life, v.1-2 by The definitive biography of writer, E.M Forster
MOVIES
A Passage to India | Trailer (1984)
A Room with a View (1986)
Maurice (1987)
Howard's End | Trailer (1992)
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writer Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of E.M. Forster, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
The Cambridge Companion to E. M. Forster (2007) by
This collection of essays, each one by a recognized expert, provides lively and innovative readings of every aspect of Forster's wide-ranging career. It includes substantial chapters dedicated to his two major novels, Howards End and A Passage to India, and further chapters focus on A Room With a View and Maurice. Forster's connections with the values of Bloomsbury and the lure of Greece and Italy in his work are assessed, as is his vexed relationship with Modernism. Other essays investigate his role as a literary critic, the status of his work within the genres of the novel and the short story, his treatment of sexuality and his attitude to and representation of women. This was the most comprehensive study of Forster's work to be published for many years, providing an invaluable source of comment on and insight into his writings.
Call Number: Miller PR6011.O58 Z524 2007ISBN: 9780521834759
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography [Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Forster scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
Making Words Matter (2009) by
Why should Salman Rushdie describe his truth telling as an act of swallowing impure "haram" flesh from which the blood has not been drained? Why should Rudyard Kipling cast Kim, the imperial child-agent, as a body/text written upon and damaged by empire? Why should E. M. Forster evoke through the Indian landscape the otherwise unspeakable racial or homosexual body in his writing? In Making Words Matter: The Agency of Colonial and Postcolonial Literature, Ambreen Hai argues that these writers focus self-reflectively on the unstable capacity of words to have material effects and to be censored, and that this central concern with literary agency is embedded in, indeed definitive of, colonial and postcolonial literature. Making Words Matter contends that the figure of the human body is central to the self-imagining of the text in the world because the body uniquely concretizes three dimensions of agency: it is at once the site of autonomy, instrumentality, and subjection. Hai's work exemplifies a new trend in postcolonial studies: to combine aesthetics and politics and to offer a historically and theoretically informed mode of interpretation that is sophisticated, lucid, and accessible. This is the first study to identify and examine the rich convergence of issues and to chart their dynamic. Hai opens up the field of postcolonial literary studies to fresh questions, engaging knowledgeably with earlier scholarship and drawing on interdisciplinary theory to read both well known and lesser-known texts in a new light. It should be of interest internationally to students and scholars in a variety of fields including British, Victorian, modernist, colonial, or postcolonial literary studies, queer or cultural studies, South Asian studies, history, and anthropology.
Call Number: Miller PR9084 .H25 2009ISBN: 9780821418802
E. M. Forster and the Politics of Imperialism (2004) by
In Howards End , Forster remarks that the Imperialist 'hopes to inherit the earth' and with the strong temptation he has to acclaim it 'as a superyeoman, who carries his country's virtue overseas'. He then adds: 'But the Imperialist is not what he thinks or seems. He is a destroyer. He prepares the way for cosmopolitanism, and though his ambitions may be fulfilled the earth that he inherits will be grey'. This simple notion is masterly expressed in A Passage to India , which provides a rich diversity of historical contexts and implies political imperatives urging us to rethink the complex relationship between East and West not as simple confrontation but rather as deeply rooted in cultural differences far beyond the realm of imperialist sensibility. With the support of material by Forster published here for the first time, this volume explores the realm of Forster's politics and imperialism.
Call Number: Miller PR6011.O58 Z8415 2004ISBN: 0333741366
E. M. Forster's Modernism (2002) by
This volume is a comprehensive investigation into Forster's relationship to Modernism. It advances the argument that Forster's fiction embodies an important strand within modernism and in doing so makes the case for a new definition and interpretation of "modernism".
Call Number: PR6011.O58 Z82267 2002ISBN: 0333987829
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
The Abinger Edition of E.M. Forster Available in Miller Library PR6011 O58 1972
| v.1 | Where Angels Fear to Tread |
| v.2 | The Longest Journey [Available at Bates] |
| v.3 | A Room with a View |
| v.3a | The Lucy Novels: Early Sketches for 'A Room with a View' |
| v.4 | Howard's End |
| v.4a | The Manuscripts of 'Howard's End' |
| v.5 | Maurice |
| v.6 | A Passage to India |
| v.6a | The Manuscripts of 'A Passage to India' |
| v.7 | The Machine Stops: And Other Stories |
| v.8 | The Life to Come: And Other Stories |
| v.9 | Arctic Summer: And Other Fiction |
| v.10 | Abinger Harvest: And England's Pleasant Land |
| v.11 | Two Cheers for Democracy |
| v.12 | Aspects of the Novel, and Related Writings |
| v.13 | Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson and Related Writings |
You'll also want to check out...
PRIMARY SOURCES: DOCUMENTS
The BBC Talks of E. M. Forster, 1929-1960 (2008) by
Spanning three decades and a host of subjects, E. M. Forster's radio broadcasts for the BBC were a major contribution to British cultural history, yet today they are rarely acknowledged by scholars of his life and work. But in their day they reached a larger audience than his fiction and established him as a household figure not only in Britain but also in the farthest reaches of its Empire. As a frequent contributor to the BBC, Forster generally adhered to literary topics but did not shy away from social commentary. This book offers a new appreciation of his vitality and public importance through seventy annotated broadcasts that present him not only as a literary critic but also as a political activist, an advocate for India, and a wary yet cooperative ally of a colonialist government during World War II. Gathering material either not in print or, if recast as essays, widely scattered, The BBC Talks of E. M. Forster reveals aspects of Forster's intellect that have been given short shrift in previous studies. Nearly half the scripts date from 1941 to 1945 and provide an eyewitness account of war from a distinguished perspective. Forster comments on how the arts gallantly survived the blitz--even taking his listeners to the theater as bombing threats loom--and in other cases protests government interference in private life or the limits on free expression caused by the wartime paper shortage. In these scripts, Forster casts a cosmopolitan eye on contemporary literature from James Joyce to John Steinbeck and provides early exposure for young writers and composers. He also enlarges the scope of European art by pairing Jane Austen or C. S. Lewis with Indian writers and offers pointed comments on contemporary literati such as Aldous Huxley and T. S. Eliot. Annotations to each piece identify Forster's references and trace his revisions from script to broadcast, while the book's introduction places his emergence as a distinctive radio voice within the historical, creative, and institutional contexts of broadcasting in his day. This significant body of writing, too long overlooked, traces Forster's evolution from novelist to adroit cultural critic and shows how a man who was never comfortable with machines played an important role in shaping a new medium. The BBC Talks of E. M. Forster situates Forster as one of the most poignant voices of the twentieth century as it offers new insight into a nation transfigured by war.
Call Number: Bates PR6011.O58 A6 2008ISBN: 9780826218001
Selected Letters of E. M. Forster, 1879-1920 (1983) by Call Number: Miller PR6011.O58 Z48 1983 v.1ISBN: 0674798252
