JOSEPH CONRAD
Joseph Conrad by George Charles Beresford, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1857-1924
Nationality: British/English/Polish
Literary Periods:
Edwardian Period, 1901-1914
Late Victorian Period, 1880-1901
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Victorian Period, 1837-1901
Literary Movements:
Modernism c.1899-1945
Postcolonialism, 20th Century
Film Adaptations
- Apocalypse NowParamount Pictures ; an Omni Zoetrope production ; produced & directed by Francis Coppola ; written by John Milius and Francis Coppola
INFLUENCES & INFLUENCE FROM
UK READING EXPERIENCE
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Joseph Conrad, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Database providing full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
Oxford Reader's Companion to Conrad (2000) by
Jozef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (as he was born in 1857) is one of the most compelling and complex figures in English literature. His own life was as astonishing as any of his novels: born in the Ukraine of Polish parents, after a childhood in exile and a 20-year career as a merchant seaman,he began in middle age to write in English, the language of his newly adopted country.The Oxford Reader's Companion to Conrad represents a unique and long-overdue achievement in Conrad scholarship: the first comprehensive and authoritative reference to distil in a lively, readable way a vast range of information on Joseph Conrad's life, works, reputation, and the historical andcultural contexts in which he lived.Much of the material in the Companion is entirely new, compiled from scattered Conrad resources, many of which have never been published before. The authors, together with a small team of specialist contributors, have brought together the latest findings of modern scholarship together to provide anunparalleled resource for all Conrad enthusiasts.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z459 2000ISBN: 0198662149
Joseph Conrad (2006) by
Joseph Conrad is one of the most intriguing and important modernist novelists. His writing continues to preoccupy twenty-first-century readers. This introduction by a leading scholar is aimed at students coming to Conrad's work for the first time. The rise of postcolonial studies has inspired interest in Conrad's themes of travel, exploration, and racial and ethnic conflict. John Peters explains how these themes are explored in his major works, Nostromo, Lord Jim and Heart of Darkness, as well as his short stories. He provides an essential overview of Conrad's fascinating life and career and his approach to writing and literature. A guide to further reading is included which points to some of the most useful secondary criticism on Conrad. This is a most comprehensive and concise introduction to studying Conrad, and will be essential reading for students of the twentieth-century novel and of modernism.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z784946 2006ISBN: 0521839726
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Joseph Conrad from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
The Conradian [JOURNAL]
"The Conradian: The Journal of the Joseph Conrad Society (UK), published twice yearly, is a refereed journal of scholarship devoted to the life and writings of Joseph Conrad. It is the recognized journal of record in the field of Conrad studies." -LION
You'll also want to check out...
The Passage of Literature (2010) by
Joseph Conrad, Jean Rhys, and Pramoedya Ananta Toer are writers renowned for crafting narratives of great technical skill that resonate with potent truths on the colonial condition. Yet given the generational and geographical boundaries that separated them, they are seldom considered in conjunction with one another. The Passage of Literature unites the three in a bracing comparative study that breaks away from traditional conceptions of modernism, going beyond temporal periodization and the entrenched Anglo-American framework that undergirds current scholarship. This study nimbly traces a trio of distinct yet interrelated modernist genealogies. English modernism as exemplified by Conrad's Malay trilogy is productively paired with the hallmark work of Indonesian modernism, Pramoedya's Buru quartet. The two novel sequences, penned years apart, narrate overlapping histories of imperialism in the Dutch East Indies, and both make opera central for understanding the cultural dynamic of colonial power. Creole modernism--defined not only by the linguistic diversity of the Caribbean but also by an alternative vision of literary history--provides a transnational context for reading Rhys's Good Morning, Midnight and Wide Sargasso Sea, each novel mapped in relation to the colonial English and postcolonial Indonesian coordinates of Conrad's The Shadow-Line and Pramoedya's This Earth of Mankind. All three modernisms-English, Creole, and Indonesian-converge in a discussion of the Indonesian figure of the nyai, a concubine or house servant, who represents the traumatic core of transnational modernism. Throughout the study, Pramoedya's extraordinary effort to reconstruct the lost record of Indonesia's emergence as a nation provides a model for reading each fragmentary passage of literature as part of an ongoing process of decolonizing tradition. Drawing on translated and un-translated works of fiction and nonfiction, GoGwilt effectively reexamines the roots of Anglophone modernist studies, thereby laying out the imperatives of a new postcolonial philology even as he resituates European modernism within the literary, linguistic, and historical context of decolonization.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780199751624
Joseph Conrad (2008) by
J oseph Conrad: Voice, Sequence, History, Genre 1) that narrative theory, and especially some of its more recent developments, can help critics generate greater insight into the complexities of Conrad's work; and (2) that a rigorous engagement with Conradian narrative can lead theorists to a further honing of their analytical tools. More particularly, the volume focuses on the four narrative issues identified in the subtitle, and it analyzes examples of Conrad's fiction and nonfiction, from early work such as An Outcast of the Islands to his late work of reminiscence, A Personal Record. The volume also provides multiple perspectives on major works such as Heart of Darkness and Lord Jim, a cluster of three essays on Nostromo and history, and an afterword by the editors that looks ahead to future work on the interrelations of Conrad and narrative theory. brings together essays by established critics of Conrad and by leading narratologists that explore Conrad's innovative uses of narrative throughout his career. Collectively, these explorations by Daphna Erdinast-Vulcan, Gail Fincham, Jeremy Hawthorn, Susan Jones, Jakob Lothe, J. Hillis Miller, Zdzislaw Najder, Josiane Paccaud-Huguet, James Phelan, Christophe Robin, Allan H. Simmons, and John Stape amply demonstrate (
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z7535 2008ISBN: 9780814210765
Reading the Global (2007) by
The global is an instituted perspective, not just an empirical process. Adopted initially by the British in order to make sense of their polyglot territorial empire, the global perspective served to make heterogeneous spaces and nonwhite subjects "legible," and in effect produced the regions it sought merely to describe. The global was the dominant perspective from which the world was produced for representation and control. It also set the terms within which subjectivity and history came to be imagined by colonizers and modern anticolonial nationalists. In this book, Sanjay Krishnan demonstrates how ideas of the global took root in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century descriptions of Southeast Asia. Krishnan turns to the works of Adam Smith, Thomas De Quincey, Abdullah bin Abdul Kadir, and Joseph Conrad, four authors who discuss the Malay Archipelago during the rise and consolidation of the British Empire. These works offer some of the most explicit and sophisticated discussions of the world as a single, interconnected entity, inducting their readers into comprehensive and objective descriptions of the world. The perspective organizing these authors' conception of the global-the frame or code through which the world came into view-is indebted to the material and discursive possibilities set in motion by European conquest. The global, therefore, is not just a peculiar mode of thematization; it is aligned to a conception of historical development unique to European colonial capitalism. Krishnan troubles this dominant perspective. Drawing on the poststructuralist and postcolonial approaches of Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, and Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, and challenging the recent historiography of empire and economic histories of globalization, he elaborates a bold new approach to the humanities in the age of globalization.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780231140706
African Fiction and Joseph Conrad (2004) by
Interrogates the "writing back to the center" approach to intertextuality and explores alternatives to it.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z5695 2005ISBN: 0791462617
Modernism, Narrative and Humanism (2002) by
In Modernism, Narrative and Humanism, Paul Sheehan attempts to redefine modernist narrative for the twenty-first century. For Sheehan modernism presents a major form of critique of the fundamental presumptions of humanism. By pairing key modernist writers with philosophical critics of the humanist tradition, he shows how modernists sought to discover humanism's inhuman potential. He examines the development of narrative during the modernist period and sets it against, among others, the nineteenth-century philosophical writings of Schopenhauer , Darwin and Nietzsche. Focusing on the major novels and poetics of Conrad, Lawrence, Woolf and Beckett, Sheehan investigates these writers' mistrust of humanist orthodoxy and their consequent transformations and disfigurations of narrative order. He reveals the crucial link between the modernist novel's narrative concerns and its philosophical orientation in a book that will be of compelling interest to scholars of modernism and literary theory.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780521814577
Rereading Conrad (2001) by
Leading Conradian scholar Daniel R. Schwarz assembles his work from over the past two decades into one crucial volume, providing a significant reexamination of a seminal figure who continues to be a major focus in the twenty-first century. Schwarz touches on virtually all of Joseph Conrad's work including his masterworks and the later, relatively neglected fiction. In his introduction and in the persuasive and insightful essays that follow, Schwarz explores how the study of Conrad has changed and why Conrad is such a focus of interest in terms of gender, postcolonial, and cultural studies. He also demonstrates how Conrad helps define the modernist cultural tradition. Exploring such essential works as Heart of Darkness, Lord Jim, Nostromo, and "The Secret Sharer," Schwarz addresses issues raised by recent theory, discussing the ways in which contemporary readers, including, of course, himself, have come to read Conrad differently. He does so without abandoning crucial Conradian themes such as the disjunction between interior and articulated motives and the discrepancies between dimly acknowledged needs, obsessions, and compulsions and actual behavior. Schwarz also touches on the extent to which Conrad's conservative desires for a few simple moral and political ideas were often at odds with his profound skepticism. A powerful close reader of Conrad's complex texts, Schwarz stresses how from their opening paragraphs Conrad's works establish a grammar of psychological, political, and moral cause and effect. Rereading Conrad sheds new light on an author who has spoken to readers for over a century. Schwarz's essays take account of recent developments in theory and cultural studies, including postcolonial, feminist, gay, and ecological perspectives, and show how reading Conrad has changed in the face of the theoretical explosion that has occurred over the past two decades. Because for over three decades Schwarz has been an important figure in defining how we read Conrad and in studying modernism, including how we respond to the relationship between modern literature and modern art, scholars, teachers, and students will take great pleasure in this new collection of his work.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0826213278
Conrad and the Millennium (2002) by
This two-volume collection is international and interdisciplinary in scope drawing on a large range of theoretical perspectives ranging from archival scholarship to cultural geography and film studies. There are four sections: Modernism and Modernity; Postmodernism: Intertextuality; Postmodernism: Gaze, Vision and Voice; and Postcolonialism.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z581148 2001ISBN: 0880339896
Essays on Conrad (2000) by
Ian Watt (1917-99) has long been acknowledged as one of the finest of post-War literary critics. The Rise of the Novel (1957) is still the landmark account of the way in which realist fiction developed in the eighteenth century and Watt's work on Conrad has been enormously influential. Conrad in the Nineteenth Century (1979) was to have been followed by a volume addressing Conrad's later work, but the material for this long-awaited second volume remains in essay form. It is these essays, as Frank Kermode points out in his foreword, which form the nucleus of Essays on Conrad. Watt's own worldview, as well as his insight into Conrad's work, was shaped by his experiences as a prisoner of war on the River Kwai. His personal, and painfully moving, account of these experiences forms part of his famous essay 'The Bridge over the River Kwai as Myth' which completes this essential collection.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0521783879
The Several Lives of Joseph Conrad (2008) by
The Several Lives of Joseph Conrad is the first new biography in more than a decade of one of modern literature’s most important writers--whose work remains widely read and acutely relevant eighty years after his death. In this authoritative, insightful book, we see Joseph Conrad as a man who consistently reinvented himself. Born in 1857 in Berdichev, Ukraine, he left home early and worked as a sailor out of Marseilles; traveled to the Far East and Africa with the British merchant navy; and, finally, in 1891, settled in England, beginning a precarious existence as an novelist and family man. Here is a Conrad for our moment: a man with a deep sense of otherness; a writer with multiple cultural identities who wrote in his third language and whose fiction became the cornerstone of literary Modernism. With his exceptional knowledge and understanding of Conrad, and drawing on unpublished letters and documents, John Stape succeeds in casting an illuminating new light on the life of a willfully enigmatic man who remains one of the greatest writers of his, and our, time.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z798 2007ISBN: 9781400044498
PRIMARY SOURCES
"The following institutions hold collections of Conrad's papers related to his occasional writings: Boston Public Library, British Library, Bryn Mawr College, Colgate University, Dartmouth College, Free Library of Philadelphia, Indiana University (Lilly Library), New York Public Library (Berg Collection), New York University (Fales Library), Pierpont Morgan Library, Public Records Office (London), Rosenbach Museum and Library, Stanford University, Syracuse University, Texas Tech University, University of Texas, University of Virginia, and Yale University." -DLB
- A Descriptive Location Register of Joseph Conrad's Manuscripts [PDF]Compiled by Gene M. Moore and updated in March, 2011
- Finding Aid for Joseph Conrad collection of papers, 1885-1956 bulk (1896-1934) at NYPLThe Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature. New York Public Library.
Heart of Darkness (1995) by
Marlow voyages into the wildness and jungle of the Belgian Congo to meet Kurtz, a company agent, and having found him, realizes that Kurtz has won supremacy over the natives through unrestrained violence. The story explores the workings of the subconscious, and addresses political imperialism.
Call Number: Bowdoin PR6005.O4 H4 1995ISBN: 0140186522
A Personal Record (2008) by
Serialized in Ford Madox Ford's English Review in 1908-9, A Personal Record (1912) both documents and fictionalizes Conrad's early life and the opening stages of his careers as a writer and as a seaman. It is also an artistic and political manifesto. This volume provides the most accurate and scholarly edition available. Mistakes introduced by typists and earlier publishers have been corrected to present the text as Conrad intended it. The introduction traces Conrad's sources and gives the history of writing and reception. The essay on the text and the apparatus set out the textual history. The notes explain literary and historical references, identify places, and gloss foreign terms. Four maps and a genealogical table supplement this explanatory material. This edition of A Personal Record, established through modern textual scholarship, presents Conrad's reminiscences and the volume's two prefaces in forms more authoritative than any so far printed.
Call Number: Colby PR6005.O4 Z467 2008ISBN: 9780521861762
The Collected Letters of Joseph Conrad (1983) by
The first of a projected eight-volume edition of all the surviving letters of Joseph Conrad. Volume One opens with a child, not yet four, writing to comfort his imprisoned father and closes with an author, exile, and master mariner just turned forty.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 Z48 1983 v.1 - v,9ISBN: 0521242169
Last Essays (2010) by
Bringing together work composed from 1890 to 1924, the nineteen pieces collected in the posthumously published Last Essays (1926) serve as a primer to Conrad's wide interests and to the varieties of his style. This edition, supported by an extensive textual apparatus, brings together various prose pieces, including reminiscences, reviews, essays on the sea and politics, as well as several miscellaneous items, including his 'Congo Diary' and the other notebook he kept in Africa in 1890. The introduction situates these writings in Conrad's career, offers new perspectives on Conrad in the marketplace and as a writer of occasional prose and traces the contemporary reception of the volume. The notes explain literary and historical references, identify real-life places and indicate Conrad's main sources. Early drafts and notes for several essays are published here for the first time, making this authoritative critical edition a major contribution to Conrad studies.
Call Number: Miller PR6005.O4 L27 2010ISBN: 9780521190596
WEB
- The Joseph Conrad Society of AmericaThe Joseph Conrad Society of America was established in 1975 to provide a forum for professional scholars and other readers interested in Conrad Studies. The original undertaking was "to foster and promote study of Conrad's work and life, and to offer Conrad students at any level and to other interested persons an opportunity to participate in the activities of the Society." These are still our goals.
- Joseph Conrad Society (UK)The Society's mission is to offer scholars, advanced students, and persons interested in the work and life of Joseph Conrad (1857-1924) an opportunity to share in the study and appreciation of this writer of worldwide reputation. Through its activities The Society expands the possibilities for Conrad studies through an annual conference, support for scholarship, and The Conradian: The Journal of the Joseph Conrad Society (UK).