HANDBOOKS
The Cambridge Companion to Modernism (1999) by
In The Cambridge Companion to Modernism, ten eminent scholars from Britain and the United States offer timely new appraisals of the revolutionary cultural transformations of the first decades of the twentieth century. Chapters on the major literary genres, intellectual, political and institutional contexts, film and the visual arts, provide both close analyses of individual works and a broader set of interpretive narratives. A chronology and guide to further reading supply valuable orientation for the study of Modernism. Readers will be able to use the book at once as a standard work of reference and as a stimulating source of compelling new readings of works by writers and artists from Joyce and Woolf to Stein, Picasso, Chaplin, H. D. and Freud, and many others. Students will find much-needed help with the difficulties of approaching Modernism, while the essays' original contributions will send scholars back to this volume for stimulating re-evaluation.
Call Number: PN56.M54 C36 1999 Colby Miller 1st Floor Bookstacks 3 (S3)ISBN: 9780511999291
The Cambridge Companion to the Modernist Novel (2007) by
The novel is modernism's most vital and experimental genre. In this 2007 Companion leading critics explore the very significant pleasures of reading modernist novels, but also demonstrate how and why reading modernist fiction can be difficult. No one technique or style defines a novel as modernist. Instead, these essays explain the formal innovations, stylistic preferences and thematic concerns which unite modernist fiction. They also show how modernist novels relate to other forms of art, and to the social and cultural context from which they emerged. Alongside chapters on prominent novelists such as James Joyce and Virginia Woolf, as well as lesser-known authors such as Dorothy Richardson and Djuna Barnes, themes such as genre and geography, time and consciousness are discussed in detail. With a chronology and guide to further reading, this is the most accessible and informative overview of the genre available.
Call Number: PN3503 .C25 2007 Colby Miller 1st Floor Bookstacks 3 (S3)ISBN: 9780521854443
The Cambridge Companion to the Twentieth-Century English Novel (2009) by
The twentieth-century English novel encompasses a vast body of work, and one of the most important and most widely read genres of literature. Balancing close readings of particular novels with a comprehensive survey of the last century of published fiction, this Companion introduces readers to more than a hundred major and minor novelists. It demonstrates continuities in novel-writing that bridge the century's pre- and post-War halves and presents leading critical ideas about English fiction's themes and forms. The essays examine the endurance of modernist style throughout the century, the role of nationality and the contested role of the English language in all its forms, and the relationships between realism and other fictional modes: fantasy, romance, science fiction. Students, scholars and readers will find this Companion an indispensable guide to the history of the English novel.
Call Number: PR883 .C36 2009 Colby Miller Mid-Level Bookstacks 2 (S2)ISBN: 9780521884167
The Oxford Handbook of Modernisms (2011) by
An unparalleled resource containing over fifty essays, The Oxford Handbook of Modernisms updates and extends the scope and depth of previous synoptic guides, bringing together new approaches to the more obvious themes of modernist studies as well as new research on the variety of cultural, aesthetic and geographical factors that were intrinsic to the creation of modernism. Two particularly innovative features of the Handbook are its focus upon the crossmedia and international character of modernism. A number of the essays examine visual culture and other media in order to delineate the aesthetic, intellectual and cultural formations linking the innovations andexperiments of literary modernism with work in other arts and media. Others seek to analyse how Anglo-American and European models were inflected in a different temporal frame and in quite distinct geographical contexts.
Call Number: PN56.M54 O95 2010 Colby Miller 1st Floor Bookstacks 3 (S3)ISBN: 9780199545445
NEWSPAPERS
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window Online access to full-color digitized versions of every issue of the Illustrated London News from 1842 to 2003.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window The Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
IMAGES
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Over 500,000 digital images of creative works from all historical periods and world cultures, including architecture, painting, prints, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and more.
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window A large online image database intended for use in the research and teaching of art, covering all art forms and with images drawn from museums and galleries around the world.
