Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Earth Science World Image Bank
Digital archive of geoscience related images.
Geology 101, Cornell
Images from and for Geology 101, Cornell University.
Geology Photos put online by Marli Miller, professor at the University of Oregon.
Google Earth (download)
Download Google Earth for map views of the world, including terrain, satellite imagery, oceans, etc.
The Image.com -- Minerals
Allows browsing by mineral class and name.
Allows searching by location, properties, chemistry, and name.
Database of mineral species descriptions and images.
NGDC -- Images of Natural Hazards
Images from the National Geophysical Data Center documenting natural hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, etc.) from the Marine Geology and Geophysics Division.
USGS Mineral Geologic Data and Images
Includes interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources.
US Geologic Survey Multimedia Gallery
View and download images, video, and audio from the entire USGS image collection.
American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections
Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
Provides images of human and non-human primate skeletons.
Encyclopedia of Life
A partnership of museums, societies, and foundations etc to provide information about life on earth.
Images from the History of Medicine
IHM provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine.
JSTOR Plant Science
A database of images, paintings and letters related to the plant sciences. You can search by location, collection, plant type, etc.
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (Exhibits)
Site features current, past and upcoming exhibits of the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History.
University of Michigan Museum of Zoology
Search images from UofM's amphibian, mammal, and fish collections.
Content courtesy of the University of Michigan Libraries, Image Resources Libguide.
Mathematics & Statistics
Physics & Astronomy
Science, Technology & Society
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo