Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Philosophical Research
As you approach Philosophy...
Think Strategically about Your Research
> Reference Sources: Looking up background informatio n first can save you time later - (at a more general level) to find use the (comprehensive and in-depth) and the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy > definitions, brief biographies, dates and other facts , and Credo Reference * for general information.
> examine particular aspects of a topic, pursuing a limited investigation to answer a question or propound a thesis. Scholarly Articles
> may be compilations of articles on a topic area, or general surveys, or comprehensive and in-depth investigations of a topic. The table of contents, or the index, or the search function on the text of an ebook can help you isolate the portions of a book that could be useful to your own research. Books
Evaluate each source you find:? who produced it ? when
Is it a primary source or does it discuss earlier works ( secondary source)?
Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings: femin* = feminist, feminism, etc.
Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase: "gender roles"
Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms: (refugee OR migrant)
REFINE YOUR SEARCH
Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search
EXPAND YOUR SEARCH
On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search
Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its full record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other sources about that subject.
A few examples:
How to tell whether a journal is well regarded in the subject area that interests you: view slideshow
Record in a Database
The record below is from Academic Search Complete. Clicking on a citation in your result list will take you to a record like this:
CITATIONS IN BRIEF
Looking At Descartes
How to Read Descartes's Meditations, by Zbigniew Janowski
B1854 .J36 2019
Feminist Interpretations of Rene Descartes
B1875 .F46 1999
Locke and Cartesian Philosophy
Questions? Email me!
During the Pandemic...
During the pandemic
IF YOU'RE ON CAMPUS:
Miller Library will be open during the terms books in Miller can be checked out using contactless self-checkout
material in Bixler Art & Music Library and Olin Science Library can be requested by using the
CBB Request function in the catalog
research assistance is available either in person or via zoom - email me at email@example.com for an appointment
IF YOU'RE REMOTE:
page. REMOTE ACCESS Make sure you have
set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.) Okta
Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are . here
"A discussion of philosophical concerns that refuses to identify the human experience with the male experience.... Feminist philosophers fault traditional metaphysics for splitting the self from the other and the mind from the body"
The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy HQ1190 .B575 2007
An Introduction to Feminist Philosophy, by Alison Stone HQ1190 .S769 2007
The Wrong of Injustice:, by Mari Mikkola Dehumanization and its Role in Feminist Philosophy Ebook 2016
Explore the journal Hypatia : a Journal of Feminist Philosophy
The Possessive Investment in Whiteness: How White People Profit from Identity Politics, by George Lipsitz Ebook 2018
Race and Racism in Modern Philosophy, ed. by Andrew Valls HT1523 .R2517 2005
and Search the Colby Catalog for the Subject: Race - Philosophy
Rethinking Existentialism, by Jonathan Webber Ebook 2018
Essays in Existentialism, Jean-Paul Sartre B2430.S32 E5 1974
L'être et le néant, essai d'ontologie phénoménologique, par J.-P. Sartre B819 .S271
Black Existentialism: Essays on the Transformative Thought of Lewis R. Gordon, ed. by Danielle Davis B819 .B57 2019
Existentia Africana: Understanding Africana Existential Thought, by Lewis R. Gordon B944.A37 G67 2000
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo