It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NEW**!!! Artifex Press is a fabulous collection of digital catalogues raisonnés, featuring some of our museum artists (Chuck Close, Agnes Martin, Jim Dine, James Sienna and more to come). Click on "Institutional Login". You will then be automatically authenticated and all published catalogues raisonnés will be available to you.
Provides article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals dating back to 1954; link to full text articles if owned by Colby
PREFERRED for finding journal articles on art topics, Art & Architecture Source provides consistent subject headings, thorough indexing and article abstracts to create a honed search experience on an art topic. Retrospective and international coverage, providing access to full-text articles from over 600 art journals.
From Yale University Press, this interactive site provides full-image and full-text access to a wide variety backlist book titles in art and architecture from important university presses and museum publishers. Art images are linked to scholarly book content, providing the user with contextual information on art images.
PREFERRED. Focus: Scholarship about modern& contemporary art (e.g. from 1900 to the present). Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
Open access. An extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a wide range of institutions and cultures. You can search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
HathiTrust is a scholarly digital library with high quality digital facsimile reproductions of full texts of a huge array of literary, cultural and historical texts, full searchable as full texts and many offering PDF download. Log in as a Colby user to activate the downloading features and other user tools.
JSTOR is an archive of over one thousand leading scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes images, and is interlinked by citations and references. For most titles, holdings do not include the last 5 years.
Project MUSE is the leading provider of current digital humanities and social sciences journals. Excellent for cross disciplinary study of the arts, performance, feminist & gender studies, and African-American studies.