Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More specific than Google:
American Philosophical Society Library
National center for research in the history of science, medicine, and technology
Charles Babbage Institute
Center for the History of Information Technology
History of Medicine
National Library of Medicine
History and Politics Out Loud
a searchable archive of politically significant audio materials
Instruments for Science, 1800-1914
Smithsonian Institution. From the Trade Literature collection. Browse by company name, type of instrument.
International Commission on History of Meteorology
Includes full text journal History of Meteorology
The Internet Archive
Digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form
19th Century Collections Online: Science, Technology & Medicine, 1780-1925
One of a group of collections of primary resources from NCCO. Colby access.
Science and Society Picture Library
A million images from the Science Museum, the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television and the National Railway Museum (UK)
Smithsonian National Museum of American History
Archives Center, National Museum of American History. One of their collections is Object Groups where you can see images and descriptions of objects in their collections.
World Digital Library
Digitized primary source documents from around the world dating back to 8000 BC. Includes maps, books, photographs.
Harvard Map Collection Digital Maps
Harvard College Library. Many maps have been digitized and can be search by geographic place or by theme. Only maps out of copyright are included (before 1923 or so).
JSTOR Global Plants
A community-contributed database of plant specimens -- with images -- for research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo