Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 256 American Literary History (Sibara): Spring 2020

Civil War to the Present

Find Articles in Scholarly Journals

DATABASES ARE CURATED COLLECTIONS that can include different types of materials and formats.

Look for a box in databases that will allow you to limit your results to SCHOLARLY PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS 

Scholarly Journals...

  • are by and for scholars
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. Use for very precise searches:

  • Finding a specific article
  • Finding book chapters on a writer or an artistic work
  • Finding book reviews

For best results, use limiters. 

Reference & Context

Photo: Book by Lalena Jaramillo

Archival databases for finding response to older works at the time of publication:

 

This is the cover and title page from a 1912 edition of Mrs. Spring Fragrance by Sui Sin Far.  This edition is in the Hathi Trust Digital Library. (Log in and select Colby College from the drop-down menu.)

EN256 Video Tutorial: Finding Scholarly Sources

If wish to view larger, click on popout arrow in upper right corner BEFORE hitting play.

Searching Tips

KEYWORD SEARCH

  • EXPERIMENT with synonyms and related terms
  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings: mother* = mother, mothers, mothering, motherhood
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase or title: "Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl"
  • Use AND between terms to narrow results to items containing both terms: identi* AND gender
  • Using OR between items (within parentheses) widens results to items containing any one term: (race OR racism)

 

SUBJECT SEARCH

Find one good item? Look in its item record for Subject Terms.
Subject terms focus your search on "aboutness" not just words. 
American literature -- Jewish authors
African Americans in literature

To find items ABOUT authors, do a Subject Search of the author's name (last name, first name).

 

AUTHOR SEARCH

To find items by authors, do an Author Search (last name, first name).

 

SEARCHING FOR LITERARY CRITICISM IN CBBcat

Keyword Search: "author's name" AND critic* ("Kate Chopin"AND critic*)

Subject Search: "author's last name, first name" (eg. Rivera, Tomás)
When authors are subjects, look for a CRITICISM sub-division : Baldwin James 1924 1987 -- Criticism And Interpretation

 

Find Chapters in Scholarly E-Books

  SEARCH our library catalog.

IS A BOOK SCHOLARLY? Is the author a scholar at an institution of higher learning? Is it a scholarly publisher, such as an university press? Search the author's name and the publisher's name in Google. Are there notes, references and/or a bibliography? Look at the writing style and examine the arguments presented. Who is the intended audience?

LOOK FOR E-BOOKS IN CBBCAT. Click on Colby Access to get to the e-book record and look for the blue link to the text at the bottom.

BUT NOT ALL OUR E-BOOKS ARE IN CBBCAT OR ONESEARCH.

CHECK THE E-BOOK COLLECTION DATABASES LISTED IN OUR  E-BOOK GUIDE

Research Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Contact me by email or chat (send me a Google Hangouts invite). Or let's talk about your research or information need on Google Meet or Zoom!
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next