It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current issues of these popular music magazines and journals are in Bixler Library. Find reviews and articles on musicians and topics by using Colby Libraries' OneSearch, or one of the databases listed to the right.
SPIN cover's current trends and the most significant artists in hip-hop, alternative, pop, and indie music, and often includes interviews with artists, and well as criticism. See the Spin website as well, for more info.
This is a peer reviewed journal, published three times a year, with articles on rock music and its numerous subgenres. International in scope, Rock Music Studies looks at rock's interaction with other styles, with a variety of disciplinary and theoretical approaches.
Articles and Full Text Databases
Research databases will help locate reliable and scholarly content. Choose the "peer review" option when searching, if available. Here is a sample searchusing the EBSCO database, Academic Search Complete, limiting results to peer-reviewed journals.
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition, to pop and rock music, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications
This database provides access to a full spectrum of gender-related scholarship, with over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.