Data Literacy
Data Ethics
Data ethics is both the study and creation of theories and their application to data practices (government, education, industry, etc.) that addresses the collecting, generating, analyzing, and disseminating of data, and the resulting impacts. It includes addressing and recommending concepts of right and wrong conduct, with transparency in and defensibility of actions and decisions driven by automated/artificial intelligence (AI) in relation to data in general and personal data in particular.
The Cambridge Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics by ISBN: 9780521888981Publication Date: 2010-04-15Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have profoundly changed many aspects of life, including the nature of entertainment, work, communication, education, healthcare, industrial production and business, social relations and conflicts. They have had a radical and widespread impact on our moral lives and hence on contemporary ethical debates. The Cambridge Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics, first published in 2010, provides an ambitious and authoritative introduction to the field, with discussions of a range of topics including privacy, ownership, freedom of speech, responsibility, technological determinism, the digital divide, cyber warfare, and online pornography. It offers an accessible and thoughtful survey of the transformations brought about by ICTs and their implications for the future of human life and society, for the evaluation of behaviour, and for the evolution of moral values and rights. It will be a valuable book for all who are interested in the ethical aspects of the information society in which we live.
Best Practices in Data Ethics
Ethics, confidentiality, and access should be considered early in when using or creating data for any research project.
- Consider whether ethical issues can affect how data are stored and transferred, who can see or use them, and how long they are kept. Demonstrate awareness of these aspects and respective planning.
- Consider who created the data and if using the data requires a license, special permission or limited access. Data can be confidential and sensitive, whether the data contains information about people or agencies or businesses.
- Follow the national and international codes of conduct for the creation and use of the data and institutional ethical guidelines. Examples include:
- ACM Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct
Computing professionals' actions change the world. To act responsibly, they should reflect upon the wider impacts of their work, consistently supporting the public good. The ACM Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct ("the Code") expresses the conscience of the profession.
- U.S. Office of Research Integrity,
Department of Health and Human Services. Site includes educational resources on responsible conduct of research, U.S. legislation, guidelines governing federally funded research, and reports and news summaries of national and international misconduct.
- Online Ethics Center
maintained by the National Academy of Engineering, the Center includes a library of cases, online modules, and quality introductory articles on ethics in engineering and the sciences.
- ICPSR Guide to Social Science Data Preparation and Archiving
The Guide to Social Science Data Preparation and Archiving is aimed at those engaged in the cycle of research, from applying for a research grant, through the data collection phase, and ultimately to preparation of the data for deposit in a public archive. The Guide is a compilation of best practices gleaned from the experience of many archivists and investigators.
- Guidelines for Responsible Data Management in Clinical Research
Sponsered by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Research Integrity, this guide covers data ownership, collection, storage, protection, and sharing.
- ACM Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct
Intellectual Property and Copyright
Intellectual Property and Copyright
In general raw data on their own are considered facts and thus can not be copyrighted. However, data that are gathered together in a unique and original way, such as databases, can be copyrighted or licensed. It is important to understand data licensing from the perspective of both the data user and data creator.
Data Users
When re-using existing data be sure to clarify ownership, obtain permissions if needed, and understand limits set by licenses. Be sure to provide appropriate attribution and citation. If licensing restricts sharing of the data, providing detailed information about where the data were obtained and how the data were analyzed can help with reproducibility.
Data Creators
There is increased pressure from funders and journals for researchers to release their research data. Applying appropriate licensing when data are released will help ensure proper re-use and attribution. There are many licenses available that represent the range of rights for the creator and licensee of the data. Two options for providing open licenses for research data are:
Creative Commons License - https://creativecommons.org/licenses/
Open Data Commons License - http://opendatacommons.org/licenses/