Data Services: Finding Existing Data Sets

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• Google Dataset Search: users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
• data.world : data.world is the enterprise data catalog for the modern data stack
• Kaggle: Kaggle is an online community platform for data scientists and machine learning enthusiasts. Kaggle allows users to collaborate with other users, find and publish datasets, use GPU-integrated notebooks, and compete with other data scientists to solve data science challenges.
• Re3 : Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
• Data Hub :a platform for data from the creators of the Comprehensive Knowledge Archive Network (CKAN).
• Natural Language Processing Datasets : Alphabetical list of free/public domain datasets with text data for use in Natural Language Processing (NLP).
• Pew Research Center Datasets : Datasets from the Pew Research Center.

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• World Bank Data :Free and open access to global development data.
• Humanitarian Data Exchange: Find, share and use humanitarian data all in one place.
• The Counter-Trafficking Data Collaborative: global data hub on human trafficking
• CIA World Factbook :Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Internet Archive version includes captures back to 2007 and archives back to 2000. FDLP Archive version includes downloads back to 2000.
• UN Data :Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.
• EuroStat :Top place to look for European statistics on economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade, and services, agriculture and fisheries, transport, environment and energy, science and technology, and general and regional statistics.
• FAOSTAT :On-line statistical databases covering international statistics in agriculture, food production, trade, forest products, fisheries and more. From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).
• Human Development Report: Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries. Includes the Human Development Index and related indicators for Health, Education, Income/Composition of Resources, Inequality, Gender, Poverty, Work, employment and vulnerability, Human Security, Trade and Financial Flows, Mobility and Communication, Environmental sustainability, Demography, Socio-economic sustainability.
• ILOSTAT :International Labour Organization (ILO) Database on International Labor Statistics, offering annual data from 1979 to the present for a wide range of variables, including employment and unemployment, earnings, wages, strikes and more.
• IMF eLibrary Data : Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create.
• InterAmerican Development Bank - Specialized Datasets :Statistics for Latin American countries, offering annual data (from 1990) on a wide range of variables, including national accounts, the balance of payments, prices, labor statistics, and more.
• Millennium Development Goals Indicators: Has official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.
• Monthly Bulletin of Statistics :The latest economic statistics and population estimates for most countries and areas of the world. Issued by the United Nations.
• openAfrica: openAFRICA aims to be the largest independent repository of open data on the African continent.
• Penn World Table :The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 168 countries starting with 1950.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics :United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.
• USAID :The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States. The site provides an overview of each county where the agency does work.
• World Bank DataBank :DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• Data.gov

  The home of the U.S. government's open data.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis

  Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.

• Bureau of Justice Statistics

  Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics

  Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

• Bureau of Transportation Statistics

  Presents data on all modes of transportation.

• Census Bureau

  Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.

• Childstats.gov

  Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

• Congressional Budget Office

  The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.

• Data.gov

  Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.

• Defense Management Data Center

  Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.

• Economic Research Service

  Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.

• Election Statistics

  Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.

• Energy Information Administration

  Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.

• ForeignAssistance.gov

  Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.

• healthdata.gov

  Access to data on a wide range of topics, including COVID-19, environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

• Internal Revenue Service

  Tax statistics for business, individuals, and charitable organizations and additional statistics about the tax system.

• National Agricultural Statistics Service

  Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

• National Center for Education Statistics

  Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.

• National Center for Health Statistics

  Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.

• Office of Immigration Statistics

  Presents data on immigrants by legal status.

• Travel Restrictions under Presidential Proclamations 9645 and 9983

  Monthly statistical reports from the State Dept., Sept. 2019 - Jan. 2021, on visa applications affected by travel ban.

• USA.gov

  Data and statistics by topic.

• Agricultural Statistics, Annual

  Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

• Annual Energy Review

  Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.

• Budget of the United States Government

  Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

• Business Statistics of the United States

  (Print only) A comprehensive collection of data that reflects the nation’s economic performance since 1929. It provides annual data in regional, demographic and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product; personal income; spending; saving; employment and unemployment; the capital stock
  and more.

• Condition of Education

  Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.

• County and city extra : annual metro, city and county data book

  (Print only) Key demographic and economic data (1990- ) for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and all cities in the U.S. with a 2010 population of 25,000 or more.

• Digest of Education Statistics

  Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.

• Economic Report of the President

  Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

• Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics

  (Print only.) A comprehensive reference providing data on a variety of topics including: employment and unemployment; earnings; prices; productivity; consumer expenditures; employment projections by industry and occupation; occupational safety and health; union membership; international labor comparisons.

• Health, United States

  An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.

• Monthly Labor Review

  Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.

• National Transportation Statistics

  Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States, ProQuest

  (Print only) Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (Replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication, which are available online).

• Survey of Current Business

  Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.

• Treasury Bulletin

  Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.

• Uniform Crime Reports

  Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.

• World Factbook

  Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

• Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

  Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.

• Datapedia of the United States

  (Print only) Presents the best available data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation.

• Demand Progress Data Sets

  Federal appropriations data.

• Census of Agriculture

  Collects data on number and size of farms and ranches, costs of production, value of products and selected characteristics of the owners. (See our library catalog for related publications.)

• Economic Census

  Collects data on size and number of business establishments, number of employees, sales, shipments, receipts, payroll, and whether women or minority owned. (See our library catalog for related publications.)

• Census of Governments

  Collects data on state and local governments. Data collected includes number and types of governments, number of employees and payroll, budgets and revenues, and fiscal relationships between governments. (See our library catalog for related publications.)

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Partnership (TCP): EEBO-TCP is a partnership with ProQuest and with more than 150 libraries to generate highly accurate, fully-searchable, SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding to books from the Early English Books Online (EEBO) Database.
• Geographic Locations in English-Language Literature, 1701-2011 :This dataset contains metadata as well as data regarding geographic locations mentioned in works of fiction from 1701-2011 found in the HathiTrust Digital Library. The dataset comes in three versions: volumemeta, recordmeta, and titlemeta. The dataset contains over 30 columns of data for each volume row. Data in the dataset includes geographic location as it appears in the volume, number of times the location is mentioned in the volume, as well as the latitude and longitude for the location.
• Google Books Ngram Dataset :The complete corpus of approximately 5 million books digitized by Google.
• HTRC Extracted Features Dataset :The HTRC Extracted Features Dataset v.2.0 is composed of page-level features for 17.1 million volumes in the HathiTrust Digital Library. This version contains non-consumptive features for both public-domain and in-copyright books. Features include part-of-speech tagged term token counts, header/footer identification, marginal character counts, and much more.
• NLP Datasets :A collection of raw unstructured text data for use in natural language processing applications.
• Project Gutenberg :Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Not a text corpora itself, it can be used to generated one for research.
• HathiTrust Digital Library :For digital humanities research, includes text mining tools
• Humanities Data :Humanitiesdata.com seeks to help collect and disseminate information about publicly available data of particular interest to digital humanities and humanities computing.
• Open Data: A History :Search for open data at The Data.gov site
• European Data Portal :The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included.
• Association of Religion Data Archives :Collection of surveys and polls; national profiles, U.S. congregational membership, and denominations; and GIS maps.
• Berman Jewish Databank :The Berman Jewish DataBank at The Jewish Federations of North America offers open access to hundreds of quantitative studies of North American Jewry.
• The Broadway League :As the national trade association for the commercial theatre industry, the League serves as the central hub for statistical information about Broadway theatre production in North America.
• National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture :The National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture provides free and easy access to data on the value and impact of the arts in individuals and communities.
• National Association of Theatre Owners :Data from the organization includes US box office grosses, admissions, ticket prices, and movie theatre counts.
• National Endowment for the Arts – Research Reports :A comprehensive account of trends and findings related to an NEA-funded arts discipline, to arts participation generally, or to arts access or artist employment. Typically contains original research and detailed statistical analyses
• Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) :The Recording Industry Association of America collects and compiles information on both shipment and purchasing trends of recorded music in the United States.

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• Climate Data Online / NOAA :National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information.
• AirData / EPA :The AirData website gives you access to air quality data collected at outdoor monitors across the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U. S. Virgin Islands. The data comes primarily from the AQS (Air Quality System) database.
• NEON Data :The National Science Foundation's National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) is a continental-scale observation facility operated by Battelle and designed to collect long-term open access ecological data to better understand how U.S. ecosystems are changing.

• Dryad :Repository for data underlying peer-reviewed articles. Currently, coverage is particularly strong for evolutionary biology and ecology but partner journals include: Science; BioMed Central; BMJ Open; Molecular Biology and Evolution and Public Library of Science (PLoS).
• ExPASy :Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) portal to databases and software tools in 11 areas, including, genomics, proteomics and population genetics.
• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) :Maintains and provides retrieval and analysis of more than 30 biological databases, including: BioProject, Epigenomics and Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM).
• Nucleic Acids Research Database Summary :The journal, Nucleic Acids Research, annual database summary with 1512 databases organized into 15 categories, including: human genes and diseases, protein sequences and immunology.
• Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP)

  Database for genotypic and phenotypic studies. Contains 4 types of data: study documentation; individual level and summary phenotypic data; genetic data and statistical results. Two levels of access: open and controlled.

• GenBank :The NIH collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
• Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) :International public repository for high-throughput functional genomic data with curated data sets that form the basis of GEO's analysis tools.
• Researcher's Guide to Finding Molecular Biology Data :A link to the Researcher's Guide to Finding Molecular Biology Data created by librarians at the UNC-Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library. This guide provides an in-depth description of how to use select molecular biology databases.

The lists below are in no way a comprehensive listing of secondary datasets. Please contact the Data Services Librarian or a subject specialist to assist you in finding appropriate datasets.

• ICPSR :One of the world’s oldest and largest social science data archives. It maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Create a free account to use.

• General Social Survey: Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. Create a free account to use.

• Roper iPoll :Collects, preserves, and disseminates public opinion data. The archive consists of more than 35,000 studies with approximately 25,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s.

• Gallup Global Public Datasets Gathers nationally representative cross-country comparable data in more than 160 countries and areas,.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) An official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
• Archeology Data Service :The only accredited digital repository in the UK for heritage data.