Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for Teaching and Research in Medical and Health Humanities: Digital Collections

Guide for Critical Medical Humanities Courses

About Digital Collections

The page contains digital collections, websites, blogs, videos, and more. Digital collections are online databases of digital objects. These collections can contain a variety of formats, such as images, text, audio, or video, and can either be "born digital" or digitized. Many of these collections and original content will be considered primary resources.

Arts Focused Digital Collections

Arts Practica Arts Practica is a medical education consultancy committed to improving healthcare quality, reducing misdiagnosis, and increasing arts engagement. Arts Practica takes an education approach, focusing on creative skill development for better doctoring and better teaching.

Interacting with Arts in Medicine from Georgetown University To provide a resource drawing on the visual, literary and listening arts to observe, understand and empathize with the experience of illness.

Art Hx: Visual and Medical Legacies of British Colonialism Art Hx addresses the historical and ongoing entanglements between art, race and medicine in the spaces of the former British empire, specifically Africa, Australia, the Caribbean, New Zealand, South Asia, and the United States from the 16th century onward. Created by faculty and students at Princeton University, the site includes a searchable, digital database of objects and images that bring these histories into view.

Humanities Focused Digital Collections

  • CHCI Medical Humanities Network: Serves as a hub for Medical Humanities (MedHum) research conducted by members of the Consortium for Humanities Centers and Institutes (CHCI). Members and the general public will find directories of recent scholarship, projects, events and social media activity related to the field throughout the world.

  • Medical Humanities, a Humanities Commons Group: includes articles, book chapters, and visual resources.

  • History of Medicine & Medical Humanities : Research portal with links to a variety of resources, including an extensive list of digital exhibits on the history of medicine and medical humanities from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada.

  • Performing Medicine :Using techniques and methodologies from the performing arts, literature and visual arts, Performing Medicine courses encourage participants to develop skills such as non-verbal communication, self care, resilience, vocal clarity, leadership, teamwork, appreciation of diversity and difference, reflective practice, observation skills and anatomy.

  • Lit Med Magazine :This blog is intended to be a forum for scholarly discussion of ongoing projects in medical, nursing, premedical, graduate, and postgraduate education and research that use the humanities, social sciences, and the arts to address current issues in medicine and bioscience- from a variety of perspectives.

  • The Polyphony The Polyphony is a web platform that aims to stimulate, catalyse, provoke, expand and intensify conversations in the critical medical humanities. It is also the relaunch and reinvention of the Centre for Medical Humanities blog, which has served the field since 2010. It is hosted by the Institute for Medical Humanities at Durham University.

Teaching

Health Humanities Syllabus Repository Hosted by the Medical Futures Lab at Rice University and the Health Humanities Consortium, this site is comprised of curriculum materials from academic, professional development, and public education programs in the health humanities. The repository is a resource for health humanities educators to share specific ideas and models for course topics, readings, assignments, teaching methods, student and professional development learning outcomes, and public engagement. 

Featured Public Digital Collections

Directories, Organizations, Videos, Blogs, etc.

  • LitMed Magazine Linked to the NYU School of Medicine, LitMed Magazine is an online forum for addressing current issues in medicine and health through the multiple lenses of art, social sciences, literature, and ethics. The site is an eclectic mix of interviews, articles, and resources in medical humanities and humanism.

  • Institute of the History of Medicine Johns Hopkins University Department of the History of Medicine

  • Medhist Developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust

  • Advancing Cultural Competence Certificate from SUNY Albany Through 12.5 hours of online coursework, the ACC Certificate prepares participants to recognize how the conditions of daily life, sociopolitical forces, and the culture of medicine affect health among underserved racial and ethnic groups in New York and other regions of the United States.

  • Doctors Who Create Doctors Who Create is changing the culture of medicine to encourage and reward creativity. We hope you contribute a post, join our community, read more about our mission, and enjoy the site.

  • Gold Foundation The Arnold P. Gold Foundation sustains the commitment of healthcare professionals to provide compassionate, collaborative and scientifically excellent patient care.

  • The Pegasus Physician Writers at Stanford A group of academic and private practice physicians in various stages of career development who also are creative writers

  • Intima: A Journal of Narrative Medicine

  • MedHum | Daily Dose Medhum Fiction |Daily Dose is a combined blog that promotes the medical humanities and intersections between self and story.

  • Digging Deep Blog: Personal Stories Our blog has a wealth of resources and the latest professional advice on supporting the emotional needs of sick children and teens.

  • The Ex-Med Student's Notebook Medical art, humor and miscellany from the creator of the DX: Medical Student comic.

  • In-Training An online magazine for medical students, with all content contributed by medical students worldwide.

  • In-House An online magazine for medical residents and fellows, with all content contributed by medical residents and fellows..


 

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next