It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an academic journal? An academic journal or scholarly journal is a periodical publication in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Certain disciplines advance new ideas through publications in academic journals.
Access to Colby's complete collection of journals can be found here. Additionally one can often discover content from journals, across a variety of academic databases. Note: Access to many academic journals often requires a subscription, however, there is a growing collection of open access journals.
Image Credit: [Encyclopédie, ou dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers] / par une sociéte de gens de lettres. Recueil de planches sur les sciences, les arts libéraux et les arts méchaniques, avec leur explication. [Anon]. https://wellcomecollection.org/works/bza78pcs/images?id=pshsam6n
Anthropology & Medicine is dedicated to publishing papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context. This broad field reflects the journal’s commitment to interdisciplinary research on the interrelationship between culture and health.
It is an official publication of the American Association for the History of Medicine and of the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine. The journal covers social, emotional, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine and includes critical reviews of recent literature in the field.
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine invites research articles, reviews and commentaries concerning the investigations of the inextricable links between human societies and nature, food, and health.
Focusing on representations of disability, the Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies (JLCDS) publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability.
The Journal of Medical Ethics and History of Medicine (J Med Ethics Hist Med) is an opportunity for healthcare professionals as well as theologians, philosophers, and sociologists to present and discuss their ideas from several aspects in relation to medical ethics and bioethics.
Founded in 1982, Literature and Medicine is a peer-reviewed journal publishing scholarship that explores representational and cultural practices concerning health care and the body. ... Literature and Medicine features one thematic and one general issue each year.
A forum for international exchange of research data, theories, reports and opinions on bioethics, and the philosophy of medicine and health care
Covers history, ethics, anthropology, epistemology, logic, metaphysics and more, as related to health
Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics (NIB) provides a forum for exploring current issues in bioethics through the publication and analysis of personal stories, qualitative and mixed-methods research articles, and case studies. Articles may address the experiences of patients and research participants as well as health care workers and researchers. NIB is dedicated to fostering a deeper understanding of bioethical issues by engaging rich descriptions of complex human experiences. While NIB upholds appropriate standards for narrative inquiry and qualitative research, it seeks to publish articles that will appeal to a broad readership of health care providers and researchers, bioethicists, sociologists, policy makers, and others.
Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine considers articles on the philosophy of medicine and biology, and on ethical aspects of clinical practice and research. Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that encompasses all aspects of the philosophy of medicine and biology, and the ethical aspects of clinical practice and research. It also considers papers at the intersection of medicine and humanities, including the history of medicine, that are relevant to contemporary philosophy of medicine and bioethics.
an open-access peer-reviewed academic journal published by the Medical Humanities Group at the University College of Medical Sciences and Guru Teg Bahadur Hospital, Delhi. It covers the role of the humanities in medical education, including the history of medicine, narrative medicine, graphic medicine, disability studies, and arts-based interventions, such as healing by means of Theatre of the Oppressed, poetry, literature, film, music and art. The journal was established in 2014. The editor-in-chief is Upreet Dhaliwal.
Social Science & Medicine is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering social science research on health, including anthropology, economics, geography, psychology, social epidemiology, social policy, sociology, medicine and health care practice, policy, and organization