Skip to main content

NEW Remote Learning Resources: Home

Welcome

Welcome! 

Did you know that over 85% of the libraries collection(s) are accessible online and can be discovered through the Colby Libraries Homepage?

As we transition to remote learning, we are adding to our already robust online collection; the Collection Management Group is hard at work adding more online resources to help increase the depth and reach of the collection(s) and services.

These new or enhanced resources include:

  • Databases
  • eBooks
  • Streaming content (video, audio, images, etc.)
  • Textbook access awareness - access on non-library platforms

Check this page often to see what new resources we've added and what resources we've enhanced by adding more content or different access models. Contact a research librarian to learn more about our extensive online collection(s).

New and Enhanced eBook Resources

NEW

See the COLBY LIBRARIES E-BOOK GUIDE for more information. It has pages on finding and using e-books. It includes video demonstrations.

JSTOR eBooks  - located on the JSTOR platform. These previously unavailable titles (to us) will be opened to us shortly.  These duplicate, almost 85% of current holdings, however, that added 15% digitized content may be just the thing a student needs.  

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection - Ebook collection featuring over 190,000 titles from university presses, commercial publishers and society publications. Covers a wide range of subjects.

RedShelf  - Distribute's nearly a million digital titles from 400+ publishers includes textbooks). To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)

VitalSource - Provides e-textbooks from a variety of publishers. Use your Colby email address to set up an account.

ENHANCED

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary), where a title had only one user access previously, it now will have concurrent multiple-person access.  

 

But don't forget our continuing collections of e-books! There's more than what's listed above. See the COLBY LIBRARIES E-BOOK GUIDE for more information. It has pages on finding and using e-books. It includes video demonstrations.

Textbooks

Many publishers are offering free or reduced access to textbooks. Look on the textbooks publisher's website to find out.

These sites are where many textbook companies are providing online access.

RedShelf  - Distribute's nearly a million digital titles from 400+ publishers includes textbooks). To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)

VitalSource - Provides etextbooks from a variety of publishers. Use your Colby email address to set up an account.

Reserves

RESERVES! We need your help. For items placed on reserve this semester, the plan is to find as many electronic substitutes as possible. To help facilitate that, please fill out this form by Monday, March 23.  For all additional requests, please use the ‘suggest a purchase’’ form on our library website. 

Cool Tools

Tiny Scanner - app that let's you scan books, etc, from your phone. Download from app store(s)

Free Natural ReaderIt can convert any written text such as Microsoft Word, webpages, PDF files, and E-mails into spoken words.

How-To Emails

The library has been sending students emails very week, to support remote learning.  Missed them?  You can see them here  https://www.colby.edu/plparchive/

Enhanced Film Streaming

COLBY LIBRARIES STREAMING PLATFORMS

Interdisciplinary

Arts

Science

OTHER LIBRARY DATABASES THAT INCLUDE FILM / VIDEO CLIPS

ON THE WEB

Important Digital Repositories (eBooks, data, documents, etc,)

These resources while not new may be of interest....

 

Coming Soon! Library Resources for Remote Learning

Check back often for updates!

NEW resources coming online ASAP:  

Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 (Gale).   PHA documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. 4/18/20      


 

New England Journal of Medicine Group: Covid 19 content online and teaching resources (NEJM Group). reference web page containing links to all freely available Covid-19 content from the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Journal Watch, NEJM Resident 360, and NEJM Catalyst. In addition to access to original research and other relevant articles, you will also find links to education resources, NEJM multimedia, and teaching resources as well as online journal club discussions hosted every two weeks by NEJM Resident 360, a benefit of your institution subscription. 4/18/20 


Corona virus research database (Gale). Select for 'Colby College' and authenticate via Okta.  The Coronavirus Research Database brings together authoritative, open and freely available content from key publishers such as Nature Publishing Group, the BMJ, Taylor & Francis and others. 4/18/20


Free Medical, Social, and Behavioral Science Articles from SAGE Publishing. This collection includes the latest medical research from SAGE related to the virus as well as top social and behavioral research to help individuals, communities, and leaders make the best decisions on dealing with the outbreak and its consequences. 4/18/20

 

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next