Skip to main content

EA/HI298: Home

Further Resources

For Citations and Bibliographies

The online Chicago Manual of Style is here

    Look for Ch. 14, on Notes and Bibliographies.

The section for Sources Consulted Online advises supplementing the usual bibliographic information with either a URL, a DOI, or the name of the library database where you found the article.

The section on Basic Format gives examples.

Continue scrolling down the table of contents to find more details on constructing Notes and Bibliographies, as well as the format for entries on Books, Periodical articles, and many other types of sources.

For More Citation Styles and Bibliographic Management Software

See this guide page

For Ways to Manage the Process of Researching and Reading

See this guide page

And remember you can always contact me: kjgillum@colby.edu

 

                                                                                                        Canton Factories, ca. 1850 -- en.wikipedia

Research Strategies

Construct your research strategically.

  • For background information, use Credo Reference or print dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in the Bibliography of Asian StudiesAcademic Search Complete, and other databases below. Articles present an argument on a particular aspect of a topic, not facts alone.
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking. The longer form of a book provides greater breadth of general information or greater depth of argument.
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in
  • Leverage the power of the index to navigate within books (Remember to check various translations and Romanizations of Chinese names and titles - Qing / Ching, Pao yu / Bao yu, Cao / Tsao, Li Po / Li Bai, Hsi-feng / Xifeng, etc.)

Librarian for East Asian Studies:  Karen Gillum,   kjgillum@colby.edu   

Contact me at any time!

Databases

Find scholarly articles and contemporary news:

Get access to more of the articles you find by Requesting from Another Library:

Directions on signing up for ILL

For a focus specifically on Asia:

Look for more useful databases in the Subject list for East Asian Studies

Articles in academic journals reflect current scholarly conversation on a given topic.

 Look for a sidebar in databases that will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals, set date ranges, etc.

Online sources

Government of Japan

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea

Official Portal of Government of China

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next