Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SP 366: Home

REMOTE RESEARCH

STARTING RESEARCH IF YOU'RE REMOTE

  • On the Libraries' home page check  REMOTE ACCESS.
  • Make sure you have Okta set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

 

Cambio de Sexo

Image result for cambio de sexo vicente aranda

 

Subject Heading

SPACE

Image result for queer spain art

José Pérez Ocaña

Research

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later. Use Credo and Film Index International for quick facts, plots, directors, etc. 
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in Academic Search Complete and the other databases below.
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find, looking for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in 

                   

If you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me!                                  kjgillum@colby.edu

Suggested databases:                              

Look for more databases by subject:

Look for background information in:

Searching Tips

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  spain*  = spanish, Spaniard, etc.
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "Queer Spain" 
  • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (Queer OR LGBTQ)

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

  • Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
  • Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search

EXPAND YOUR SEARCH

  • On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search

SUBJECT SEARCHING

  • Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its full record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other sources about that subject.

A few examples:

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next