Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SP 298: Home

REMOTE RESEARCH

STARTING RESEARCH IF YOU'RE REMOTE

  • On the Libraries' home page check  REMOTE ACCESS.
  • Make sure you have Okta set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

 

CBBcat for Books

To find books, use the catalog for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin:

To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books

Subject links in each record can lead you to more sources on your topic.

A few subjects in CBBcat are listed below:

Folk music -- Latin America -- History and criticism.

Ethnomusicology -- Latin America.

Music -- Latin America -- History and criticism.

Arts -- Latin America -- History.

Latin America -- Civilization -- 19th century.

World music -- Latin America -- History and criticism.

Sorry - physical books not available for Spring 2020

Finding the book!

Which library, Miller or Bixler? Look at the Location  Colby Bixler Bookstacks and the call number  MUSIC ML3760 .M68 1985

  Call numbers run alphabetically, then numerically.

   Look for signs at the end of each set of shelves;

   in Miller, there is a chart by the stairs to show you which letters are on which floors.

Bolero

A bolero dancer
 Antonio Cabral Bejarano, 1842

Streaming Music

The Library subscribes to these streaming music services for study and enjoyment!

News

  Web portals for news:

  Particular newspapers:

US News in Spanish:

   Many more...

News with video:

  Blogs:

  Magazines:

Merengue

Image result for merengue dance art

Jaime Colson - Merengue (1938)

Research Strategies

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use Credo Reference,  subject encyclopedias and handbooks, or print dictionaries and encyclopedias

  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in the MLA International Bibliograhy, Academic Search Complete and other databases below. Articles present an argument on a particular aspect of a topic, not facts alone.

  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking. The longer form of a book provides greater breadth of general information or greater depth of argument.

  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more

  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

 

For secondary sources, i.e., articles that advance an argument:

Find Databases by Subject

 

Continue your research by browsing particular Journals:

  • Always pay attention to vocabulary in records as you try a variety of approaches. Stay focused as you explore! The guide page Reading as You Research has some tips that may help.

 

  • Ask your librarian!      Karen Gillum      kjgillum@colby.edu      Miller 107B

For Reference

Primary Sources

Searching Tips

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  femin*  = feminist, feminism, etc.
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "gender roles" 
  • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (refugee OR migrant)

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

  • Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
  • Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search

EXPAND YOUR SEARCH

  • On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search

SUBJECT SEARCHING

  • Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its full record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other sources about that subject.
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next