Find the best library databases for your research.
CredoA database of dictionaries and encyclopedias in all areas. Best for background and contextual information, fact-checking.
Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary. Best for access to both scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study.
JSTORFocus Area: Humanities and Social Sciences. Best for peer-reviewed full-text articles in academic journals. However, some journals may not include articles from the last 1-5 years
Arts (Proquest Arts)Focus areas: Fine Arts, music, theater, dance and other performing arts. Use this suite of databases to find current and retrospective scholarly journal articles, historic newspapers articles, full-text dissertations, and more. Link to full text.
EconLitFocus area: Economics. Best for journal articles and working papers.
MLA BibliographyFocus area: literary criticism of works in modern languages. Access to scholarly articles and essays in collections.
PsycINFOFocus area: Psychology and psychological aspects of related fields. Best for journal articles and abstracts.
ScopusFocus Area: sciences and most social science disciplines. Best for: scholarly journal articles, topic review articles, abstracts and conference papers.
NewspapersGuide with links to the collections of electronic newspapers Colby subscribes to. Includes directions for access to current subscriptions to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This database provides full-page and article images with searchable full text from the Atlanta world (1931-1932) and the Atlanta daily world (1932-2010). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. The Atlanta Daily World had the first Black White House correspondent and was the first Black daily newspaper in the nation in the 20th century.
Collection of issues-based documentary films from leading film producers and distributors. Subjects covered include: environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, and the arts.