Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AY 397 Indigeneity and the Politics of Authenticity : Resources

Professor: Nell Haynes. Fall 2019.

Find Articles

 EBSCO databases:

ProQuest databases:

Other Databases:

Some databases include a variety of types of publications (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.) and content types (articles, book reviews, commentary, etc.) Look for type and content designations in search results.

Scholarly journals are written by and for scholars. In databases, look for a option to limit results to peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

Search Strategies

  1. Keep a log with search terms and results.
  2. Use an asterisk to search multiple word endings: ecolo = ecology, ecological
  3. Use quotes to glue together a phrase: "native american"
  4. If possible, use advanced search with different concepts on different rows
  5. Use OR between synonyms enclosed in parentheses if not on a separate row: (native OR indigenous)
  6. Start with a keyword search and look for subject headings and more search terms.
  7. Follow citation trails. Look at the references of relevant sources, but also put titles in Scopus or Google Scholar to see who later cited that source.

SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADINGS IN CBBCAT:

 UBC Xwi7xwa Library by htomren (2009) (CC BY-NC 2.0) Brian Deer Classification

Primary Sources - Archival Collections & Organizations

Find other digitized primary source material: Do a Google search of your tribe name or interest area and add these words and phrases:

  • digital collection* OR "digital library" OR digitized
  • "oral histories" or "oral history"
  • museum OR archiv*
  • manuscripts OR papers

Find other resource suggestions in other library guides, especially guides created by libraries at universities and colleges associated with your topic or located in related geographical areas. Use the word Libguide in your search, the tribe name and Site: .edu.

For a more precise search, from the Google results, click on: Settings > Advanced Search 
You can then narrow your search by entering .edu or .gov or .org in the Site or Domain box

Primary Sources: Newspapers & Magazines

Smart Searching in Google

  Find alternative voices and primary sources by carefully fine-tuning Google searches.

Use "Advanced Search" - In Google, do an initial search, but on the results page, click on Settings then Advanced Search. Use the "Find Pages With" search boxes to finesse your keyword combinations.

Search precisely - Zoom in. Do pre-research in databases and author websites to identify the names of respected Web publications and blogs and search with author names.

Add format designations - E.g. blogs, "tribal council", "digital collection"

Limit by "Site or Domain" -  .edu limits results to output from educational institutions

Expand your search if results are too limited - Try synonyms. Try changing specific author names to broader classifications.

Evaluate Extremely Carefully! - Investigate every source by doing separate searches of source creators, authors and publications. Every source you interact with is a conversation. With whom are you talking? What are their values and motivations? Are they trustworthy? Are they getting their information from reliable sources and interpreting evidence fairly and  intelligently? Who is the intended audience?

Know the Limitations of Web Searching - Most scholarly articles are either not found by search engines or are behind paywalls. Information is sorted and ranked according to commercial/consumer/popular considerations. Information is not vetted for accuracy or reliability.

Find Books

SEARCH our library catalog 

CBBcat includes both scholarly books and books intended for a general audience.

To order items from the Colby Annex, Bates or Bowdoin, click

Not finding what you want in CBBcat? Use the link to MaineCat in your CBBcat search results.  Or check WorldCat and order through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.

LIBRARIAN

Erin Rhodes's picture
Erin Rhodes
Contact:
enrhodes@colby.edu
207-859-5152

Special Collections & Archives
Miller Library | Main Floor
Subjects:Anthropology

Reference

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next