Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AY 373 The Anthropology of Gender and Sexuality: Research Resources

Find Scholarly Articles

 EBSCO databases:

ProQuest databases:

Other Databases:

Some databases include a variety of types of publications (scholarly journals, newspapers, etc.) and content (articles, book reviews, etc.) Look for ways to refine a search by type.

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS are written by and for scholars. In databases, look for a option to limit results to peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

Librarian Help

Erin Rhodes's picture
Erin Rhodes
Contact:
enrhodes@colby.edu
207-859-5152

Special Collections & Archives
Miller Library | Main Floor
Subjects:Anthropology

  Photo: By Michael Coghlan. (CC BY-SA 2.0) Gender specific restrooms 2011

Find Books & Media

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.

CBBcat includes different types of materials. To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate the publisher, author (college/university professor?), and quality of references. Look at the writing style and examine the arguments presented. Who is the intended audience? 

For remote learning, look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results . These are online resources. (E-books, streams, digital documents.)

Or use the drop-downs on the CBBcat search page, for a more precise search.

If you're on campus, there is still access to the Miller Library bookstacks and you can order books from Bixler, Olin, the Annex, Bates and Bowdoin by clicking CBB Request in an item record. These can be picked up at Miller.

Search Strategies

  1. KEEP A LOG with search terms and results for each resource.
  2. Use an ASTERISK to search all endings of a word: mascul* = masculine masculinity
  3. Use QUOTES to glue together a phrase: "gender nonconforming"
  4. If possible, use ADVANCED SEARCH with different concepts on different rows
  5. Use OR between synonyms enclosed in parentheses if not on a separate row: (non-binary OR genderqueer)
  6. As you find material, scan for ALTERNATIVE SEARCH TERMS in item records and references, and then try new searches.
  7. Start with a keyword search and look for SUBJECT HEADINGS in item records.
  8. FOLLOW CITATION TRAILS. Look at the references of relevant sources, but also put titles in Scopus or Google Scholar to see who later cited that source.

SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADINGS IN CBBCAT:

Chicago Citation Style

The Chicago Citation Style has two systems. The Author-Date system is commonly used for Anthropology.

For more information about citing images, see the library guide CITING IMAGES

Reference

Newspapers

For even more newspapers, consult our NEWSPAPER GUIDE.

Note it has a tab for signing up for the digital edition of the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

 

Librarian Help

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Contact me by email or chat (send me a Google Hangouts invite). Or let's talk about your research or information need on Google Meet or Zoom!

Citation Management

Collect citations, store PDFs, create bibliographies and more!

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next