It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AY/GS 316 Religion and Social Change in Contemporary Africa: Resources
Spring 2020 (Halvorson)
Find Scholarly Articles
The two main databases for this course.
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSourceFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
Other databases for supporting interdisciplinary information.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
ATLA Religion DatabaseAn index of scholarly articles, reviews, and essays on religion and theology, primarily covering 1949 to the present.
Education AbstractsA bibliographic database covering thousands of periodicals and books on education, with content areas including educational specialties, administration, and funding.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
MEDLINEFrom the National Library of Medicine, a database of citations from international journals in all areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and health administration, with coverage from 1966 to the present, also covering related topics such as biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Sociological AbstractsIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations of book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage dates from 1952 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Articles in scholarly and/or peer-reviewed journals are particularly important to academic research.
Find Scholarly Books
SEARCH our library catalog - the Entire CBB Collection or just Colby.
Is a book scholarly? Investigate the author & publisher. Look for ethnographic research and scholarly analysis. Check for a substantive bibliography/notes that cite other scholarly publications and reliable primary sources.
To order items from Colby Storage, Bates or Bowdoin: Click on
Photo: Great Mosque of Djenné, Mali by Martha de Jong-Lantink (Flickr - CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Catalog and database searches are very literal; results only include items with the exact word(s) given.
Use an asterisk to expand a search all endings of a word: religio* = religion, religions, religious, religiously
Use quotes to glue together a phrase: "Democratic Republic of Congo"
To find either of two terms, put them in parentheses with OR between each term: (healer* OR sangoma*)
Use Advanced Search and put different concepts on each row.
As you find material, scan for alternative search terms in item records and references, and then try new searches.
Start with a keyword search and look for subject heading links in item records. These group material by "aboutness."
Zoom out of geographical areas if you don't find what your looking for (Try: Kenya, then Africa*
Keep a log of search terms
Africa* (or individual countries)
religio* (or individual religions)
"social life and customs"
Start with Keyword searches and then look at item records for relevant Subject Headings. These gather together items by "aboutness." The following are Subject headings in item record for the book: When Norms Collide:
Sample Subject Headings are listed below. (Change 1st drop-down to Subject.)
Country names (e.g. Botswana)
Ethnic groups (e.g. Dogon)
Religion and state -- Africa, Sub-Saharan -- Case studies
Pentecostalism -- Africa
Note that some terms are often used as sub-headings in Subjects. If your not sure of a subject string, you can also search these as keywords (phrases in quotes) added to primary subject headings.
Social life and customs
Use Advanced Search to mix and match keyword and subject searches.
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyWritten by leading scholars in the field, this Guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)Organized in an A-Z format, articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures, 10 volumes by David Levinson (Editor)This 10-vol. set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Call Number: REF GN307 .E53 1991 Colby Miller Reading Room
Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of ReligionAn online edition of the reference work on religion and its place in everyday life across world cultures.