Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Topic: Authors: VICTOR HUGO

VICTOR HUGO

Victor Hugo by Étienne Carjat 1876 Bibliothèque nationale de France, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Dates of Birth/Death: 1802-1885

Gender: Male 

Literary Periods: 

  • Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899

Nationality: 

  • French/European

BOOKS IN CBB COLLECTIONS

HUGO'S CONTEMPORARIES

SPACE

Maison de Victor Hugo Paris Caricature by Vassil, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Scribner Writers Series  [Database]
Biography on the life and works of Victor Hugo, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...
 

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Dickens scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.

Subject searches in the Colby Catalog:

ADAPTATIONS OF HUGO'S WORK

Website for French Musical based on "Hunchback of Notre Dame": Notre Dame de Paris

 

Website for Broadway Musical based on "Les Miserables": Les Miserables

 

Film Adaptations of Les Miserables:

1998 Film

 

2012 Film

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next