It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patrick Wildgust in conversation with Helen Weinstein to introduce Shandy Hall, Coxwold, where Laurence Sterne wrote and lived.
Reference and Background Information
"The siege of Namur by Captn. Shandy & Corporal Trim". One of a series of illustrations to Laurence Sterne's Tristram Shandy.
Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]
Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
MLA International Bibliography [DATABASE]
Search here for Books, Journal Articles and Essays. MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on John Donne from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
Literature Online (LION)
Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
Search Laurence Sterne in the archives of the British Library for mss of novels, letters, etc.
British Periodicals Online [DATABASE]
British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' . This unique digital archive provides the full text of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers [DATABASE]
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.