It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dates of Birth/Death: 1915-1980 Gender: Male Nationality: French/European
Postwar Period, 1945-1999;
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
BOOKS AT COLBY
How to Live Together (2012) by Roland Barthes; Kate Briggs (Translator)In The Preparation of the Novel, a collection of lectures delivered at a defining moment in Roland Barthes's career (and completed just weeks before his death), the critic spoke of his struggle to discover a different way of writing and a new approach to life. The Neutral preceded this work, containing Barthes's challenge to the classic oppositions of Western thought and his effort to establish new pathways of meaning. How to Live Together predates both of these achievements, a series of lectures exploring solitude and the degree of contact necessary for individuals to exist and create at their own pace.
Call Number: PS3552.A45 Z7597 2008
A Barthes Reader (1982) by Roland Barthes; Susan Sontag (Editor)Roland Barthes was born in 1915 and studied French literature and classics at the University of Paris. After teaching French at universities in Romania and Egypt, he joined the Centre National de Recherche Scientifique, where he devoted himself to research in sociology and lexicology. He was a professor at the College de France until his death in 1980
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowDatabase providing full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline.
Philosopher's IndexThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts from books and over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. It is a major source of information in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics: it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, and religion.
Coverage: 1940 -
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Barthes scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account. You'll also want to check out...
Radical Indecision (2010) by Leslie HillIn his newest book, Radical Indecision, esteemed scholar Leslie Hill poses the following question: If the task of a literary critic is to make decisions about the value of a literary work or the values embodied in it, decisions in turn based on some inherited or established values, what happens when that piece of literature fails to subscribe to the established values? Put another way, how should literary criticism respond to the paradox that in order to make critical judgments of literary works, it is first necessary to suspend judgment and to consider the impossibility of making a final decision? Hill pursues these ideas in the works of leading French critics Roland Barthes, Maurice Blanchot, and Jacques Derrida, discussing writers such as Sade, Mallarmé, Proust, Artaud, Genet, Celan, and Duras. Hill concludes that, despite their differences, Barthes, Blanchot, and Derrida share a conviction that criticism cannot take place without exposure to that resistance to decision that is inseparable from reading and that they address diversely as the "neuter" or the "undecidable." Radical Indecision offers the first sustained exploration of the "undecidable." This comprehensive book breathes new life into the discipline of literary theory and will be essential reading for students and scholars alike.