Topic: Authors: W.B. YEATS

W.B. Yeats by Bain News Service, publisher, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Dates of Birth/Death: 1865-1939

Gender: Male 

Nationality: British/Irish/European

Ethnicity: Anglo-Irish

Literary Periods: 

• Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
• Victorian Period, 1837-1901
• Late Victorian Period, 1880-1901
• Modernist Period, 1899-1945
• Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
• Edwardian Period, 1901-1914
• Inter-War Period, 1918-1939

Literary Movements: 

• Aesthetic Movement
• Celtic Revival, ca. 1880-1939
• Decadent Movement, ca. 1880-1910
• Modernism c.1899-1945
• Rhymers' Club
• Symbolism

Enter The Life and Works of William Butler Yeats | The National Library of Ireland

A William Butler Yeats Encyclopedia 

From the Introduction: "Yeats is the center of this book, and each entry has been written from his perspective. In the interest of space and volume, it has not been possible to include every person, place, or topic referred to by Yeats, but through a detailed reading of his Collected Works, a selection has been made of those that are important to an understanding of the author and the world he lived in. The book contains almost a thousand entries, with a Chronology, a selected Bibliography, and an Index."

Scribner Writers Series

Critical essay and Biography on the life and works of W.B. Yeats

Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Yeats scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
 

You'll also want to check out...

The Collected Letters of W.B. Yeats 

This edition of The Collected Letters of W.B. Yeats includes all of the known letters of the great Irish poet, drmatist and statesman. Most appear here for the first time. Learn more...

The Cuala Press Collection in Colby's Special Collections 

The Cuala Press was established by Elizabeth and Lily Yeats, sisters of William Butler Yeats, and given the old Irish name for the town in which they lived. With W.B. Yeats as editor, the press published most of the leading writers of the early part of the 20th century. 

The Healy Collection at Colby contains over 100 Cuala Press titles and an impressive number of hand colored broadsides and greeting cards (as pictured here) also produced by the press, to which Yeats family members contributed many illustrations and poems.

You'll also want to check out...

PennSound - Yeats' poems

         W.B. Yeats reading "Lake Isle of Innisfree"