VIRGINIA WOOLF
Virginia Woolf by George Charles Beresford, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1882-1941
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Inter-War Period, 1918-1939
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Literary Movements:
Bloomsbury Group, ca. 1905-1940
Feminist Writers, 1900-
Lesbian/Gay Writing, 1885-
Modernism c.1899-1945
Stream of Consciousness Novel
HEAR WOOLF SPEAK
Click to Play
This recording of Virginia Woolf's BBC Radio talk, "Craftsmanship," is the only surviving recording of Woolf's voice.
BLOGGING WOOLF
Focusing on Virginia Woolf
and her circle, past and present
Loading ...
MOVIES AT COLBY
BOOKS AT COLBY
Under the Subject Woolf Virginia 1882 1941 Aesthetics
Virginia Woolf : the frames of art and life (1988) by Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z8167 1988ISBN: 0312019149
The Feminist Aesthetics of Virginia Woolf (2001) by
Jane Goldman offers a revisionary, feminist reading of Woolf's work. Focusing on Woolf's engagement with the artistic theories of her time, Goldman traces the feminist implication of her aesthetics by reclaiming for the everyday world of history and politics what seem to be private mystical moments. Goldman analyses Woolf's fascination with the Post-impressionist exhibition of 1920 and the solar eclipse of 1927 by linking her response to a much wider literary and cultural context. She argues that Woolf evolves a kind of 'feminist prismatics' through which she is able to express and develop both the challenge and pessimism of her feminist vision. Lavishly illustrated with colour pictures, this book will appeal not only to scholars working on Woolf, but also to students of modernism, art history, and women's studies.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z648 2001ISBN: 0521794587
Under the Subject Woolf Virginia 1882 1941 Criticism And Interpretation
Literary Aesthetics of Trauma (2014) by
Literary Aesthetics of Trauma: Virginia Woolf and Jeanette Winterson investigates a fundamental shift, from the 1920s to the present day, in the way that trauma is aesthetically expressed. Modernism's emphasis on impersonality and narrative abstraction has been replaced by the contemporary trauma memoir and an ethical imperative to bear witness.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z943 2014ISBN: 9781137311009
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Critical Essay and Biography on the life and works of Virginia Woolf
- Literary Encyclopedia entry [WEB]
- Literature resource Center [DATABASE]
Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series - Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]
Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
You'll also want to check out...
Virginia Woolf a to Z (1996) by
Her revolutionary novels and essays have inspired generations of feminists, and her life has aroused both interest and speculation. In Virginia Woolf A-Z, the author's works and autobiographical writings are set in the context of her infamous social milieu. Eight "family" trees map out thecomplicated relationships and living arrangements of the Bloomsbury Group, and a chronology gives a quick overview of the major events of Woolf's life. With over 1,300 entries and fifty illustrations, this desktop companion is the ideal antidote to those afraid of Virginia Woolf, and valuable beyondmeasure to those already familiar with her work.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z729 1996ISBN: 0195110277
Virginia Woolf's Literary Sources and Allusions (1983) by Call Number: Colby Z8984.2 .S74 1983ISBN: 0824091698
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography [Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Virginia Woolf from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
Woolf Studies Annual [Journal]
Woolf Studies Annual is a peer reviewed journal publishing substantial new scholarship on the work of Virginia Woolf and her milieu. Searchable in MLA International Bibliography.
Full text Journal Articles on Virginia Woolf in Literature Online (LION)
You'll also want to check out...
A Bibliography of Virginia Woolf (1981) by
His name was David Crockett. He never signed his name any other way, but popular culture transformed his memory into "Davy Crockett," and Hollywood gave him a raccoon hat he hardly ever wore. Bestselling historian Michael Wallis casts a fresh look at the frontiersman, storyteller, and politician behind these legendary stories. Born into a humble Tennessee family in 1786, Crockett never "killed him a b'ar" when he was only three. But he did cut a huge swath across early-nineteenth-century America--as a bear hunter, a frontier explorer, a soldier serving under Andrew Jackson, an unlikely congressman, and, finally, a martyr in his now-controversial death at the Alamo. Wallis's David Crockett is more than a riveting story. It is a revelatory, authoritative biography that separates fact from fiction, providing us with an extraordinary evocation of a true American hero and the rough-and-tumble times in which he lived.
Call Number: Colby Z8984.2 .K5 1980ISBN: 9780198181859
The Cambridge Companion to Virginia Woolf (2000) by
Virginia Woolf is now hailed as one of the greatest, most innovative writers of our age. This landmark collection of essays by leading scholars in the field addresses the full range of her intellectual perspectives - literary, artistic, philosophical and political. The Cambridge Companion to Virginia Woolf provides original, new readings of all nine novels and fresh insight into Woolf's letters, diaries and essays allowing easy reference to individual themes and texts. The progress of Woolf's thinking is revealed from Bloomsbury aestheticism through her hatred of censorship, corruption and hierarchy to her concern with all aspects of modernism. The volume reflects the changing face of Woolf scholarship especially in the light of new feminist approaches, and explores the immense range of social and political issues behind her ongoing search for new narrative forms.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z5655 2000ISBN: 0521625483
The Cambridge Introduction to Virginia Woolf (2006) by
For students of modern literature, the works of Virginia Woolf are essential reading. In her novels, short stories, essays, polemical pamphlets and in her private letters she explored, questioned and refashioned everything about modern life: cinema, sexuality, shopping, education, feminism, politics and war. Her elegant and startlingly original sentences became a model of modernist prose. This is a clear and informative introduction to Woolf's life, works, and cultural and critical contexts, explaining the importance of the Bloomsbury group in the development of her work. It covers the major works in detail, including To the Lighthouse, Mrs Dalloway, The Waves and the key short stories. As well as providing students with the essential information needed to study Woolf, Jane Goldman suggests further reading to allow students to find their way through the most important critical works. All students of Woolf will find this a useful and illuminating overview of the field.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780521838832
Palgrave Advances in Virginia Woolf Studies (2007) by
This book is an invaluable guide to the body of criticism on Virginia Woolf. It includes comprehensive and insightful chapters on different approaches to Woolf, including feminist, historicist, postcolonial and biographical. The essays provide concise summaries of the key works in the field as well as an engaging description of the approach itself.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z87675 2007ISBN: 1403904049
Virginia Woolf (2005) by
During Virginia Woolf's lifetime Britain's position in the world changed, and so did the outlook of its people. The Boer War and the First World War forced politicians and citizens alike to ask how far the power of the state extended into the lives of individuals; the rise of fascism providedone menacing answer. Woolf's experiments in fiction, and her unique position in the publishing world, allowed her to address such intersections of the public and the private. Michael Whitworth shows how ideas and images from contemporary novelists, philosophers, theorists, and scientists fuelledher writing, and how critics, film-makers, and novelists have reinterpreted her work for later generations.The book includes a chronology of Virginia Woolf's life and times, suggestions for further reading, websites, illustrations, and a comprehensive index.
Call Number: Bates PR6045.O72 Z8956 2005ISBN: 0192802348
NEWSPAPERS
News about Virginia Woolf, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window The Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
- British Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window Scanned versions of the full texts of over 500 British periodicals dating from the 17th century to the early 20th, with coverage of topics such as literature, science, and the arts.
WOOLF AS PUBLISHER: THE HOGARTH PRESS
You'll also want to check out...
Leonard and Virginia Woolf As Publishers (1992) by
Has any couple in twentieth-century intellectual life so captured and held attention as have Leonard and Virginia Woolf? The have proved endlessly interesting as individuals, partners, writers, modernists, and as the central players in the absorbing drama of Bloomsbury. Yet surprisingly scant attention has been paid to their remarkable achievements as publishers. Now J.H. Willis, Jr., combines wide-ranging literary knowledge with more than ten years of research to enhance forever our appreciation of Leonard and Virginia Woolf as publishers.
Call Number: Colby Z232.H73 W54 1992ISBN: 0813913616
Checklist of the Hogarth Press, 1917-1946 (1986) by Call Number: Miller Special Collections ROBSN Z232.H73 W66 1986ISBN: 0913506176
MANUSCRIPTS
Virginia Woolf, The Hours (1996) by
This is a transcription of the holograph version of Virginia Woolf's fourth novel. Woolf worked on the manuscript between June 1923 and October 1924 while, at the same time, composing essays for Common Reader 1. The central text is from three manuscript notebooks in the British Library; also included in the volume are transcriptions of manuscript material from the Berg Collection of the New York Public Library. Helen Wussow's critical introduction provides a provocative reading of The Hours, the process of writing, and contemporary theories of textual editing. The Hours: The British Museum Manuscript of Mrs. Dalloway is a major contribution to the study of Virginia Woolf, modern literature, and the politics of editing.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 M73 1996ISBN: 0944473296
Women and Fiction: the manuscript versions of A room of one's own (1992) by Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z474 1992ISBN: 0631180370
Virginia Woolf: The Inward Voyage (1970) by
Virginia Woolf's discovery as a novelist--how to convey the inner reality of experience--is set forth for the first time by Harvena Richter. A voyage "inward" to Mrs. Woolf's subjective methods, Miss Richter's study furthers our understanding of her novels, especially The Waves and The Years, and reveals a new, vital, completely contemporary Virginia Woolf. Originally published in 1970. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z8764 1983ISBN: 0691061793
The Waves (1976) by
The Waves is a wonderfully poetic experimental novel. Virginia Woolf was a luminous novelist, a prolific essayist and book reviewer, and a diarist. With her husband Leonard, Woolf established and ran the Hogarth Press which published works by influential modernist writers. In their first five years, they published Katherine Mansfield, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, Clive Bell, Roger Fry and Sigmund Freud. Woolf's haunting writing, her succinct insights into feminist, artistic, historical, political issues, and her revolutionary experiments with points of view and stream-of-consciousness altered the course of literature.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 W3 1976bISBN: 1789431972
To the Lighthouse (1982) by
"To the Lighthouse features the serene and maternal Mrs. Ramsay, the tragic yet absurd Mr. Ramsay, and their children and assorted guests who are on holiday on the Isle of Skye. From the seemingly trivial postponement of a visit to a nearby lighthouse, Virginia Woolf constructs a moving examination of the complex tensions and allegiances of family life and the conflicts within a marriage."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 T6 1982ISBN: 0802055249
JOURNALS & DIARIES
For an abridged version of Woolf's diaries, see A Moment's Liberty: The Shorter Diary
You'll also want to check out..
The Diary of Virginia Woolf (1977) by Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z494 1977 v.1 - v.5ISBN: 0151255970
Moments of Being (1977) by
Moments of Being contains Virginia Woolf' s only autobiographical writing: " By far the most important book about Virginia Woolf...that has appeared since her death" [Angus Wilson, Observer (London)]. Edited and with an Introduction by Jeanne Schulkind; Index.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z535ISBN: 9780151620340
Passionate Apprentice (1991) by
These early journals record Virginia Woolf's "sublime trajectory" (Bloomsbury Review) from a gifted adolescent to a professional writer and complete the magnificent self-portrait provided by her published letters and diaries. Edited and with a Preface and Introduction by Mitchell A. Leaska; Index.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z473 1990ISBN: 0151712875
A Writer's Diary (1973) by
An invaluable guide to the art and mind of Virginia Woolf, drawn by her husband from the personal record she kept over a period of twenty-seven years. Included are entries that refer to her own writing, others that are clearly writing exercises; accounts of people and scenes relevant to the raw material of her work; and comments on books she was reading. Edited and with a Preface by Leonard Woolf; Indices.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z5 1973ISBN: 9780156983808
CORRESPONDENCE
editor Nigel Nicolson, assistant editor Joanne Trautmann. Miller Library - PR6045.O72 Z525 1975b
Volume 1: The Flight of the Mind, 1888-1912
Volume 2: The Question of Things Happening, 1912-1922
Volume 3: A Change of Perspective, 1923-1928
Volume 4: A Reflection of the Other Person, 1929-1931
Volume 5: The Sickle Side of the Moon, 1932-1935
Volume 6: Leave the Letters 'till We're Dead, 1936-1941
You'll also want to check out..
Congenial spirits : the selected letters of Virginia Woolf (1990) by
Virginia Woolf was an inventive, witty correspondent, whether commenting on a domestic crisis, politics, or the roving of the writer's mind. Edited and with an Introduction by Joanne Trautmann Banks; Index.
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z48 1990ISBN: 0151221006
The Letters of Vita Sackville-West to Virginia Woolf (1984) by Call Number: Miller PR6037.A35 Z497 1985ISBN: 0688039634
Virginia Woolf and the Raverats (2004) by
Jacques Raverat was a French painter who died of MS aged 40 in 1925. In 1911, he had married Gwen Darwin, granddaughter of the evolutionist and also an artist. They knew Virginia Woolf and Bloomsbury well and when they moved to the south of France for his health, their friendship blossomed in a series of long and poignant letters. The crucial bond was that between Jacques and Virginia. Their correspondence ranged far and wide. Informed by the depressions and uncertainties, the speculation and passion of their bohemian lives, these letters display a complex affinity between three artists facing their own mortality, their weaknesses and the price of their creativity. It is a friendship whose later substance and passion was entirely expressed by letter. Virginia Woolf & the Raverats is not only a complete record of their correspondence, but includes much previously unpublished material. None of the Raverat letters, the extracts from Gwen Raverat s other writings, her powerful sketches of her husband on his deathbed, nor Jacques paintings have been published before. There are facsimile reproductions of crucial letters, diary and journal entries."
Call Number: Miller PR6045.O72 Z48 2003ISBN: 1904555020
WEB
- The International Virginia Woolf SocietyThe International Virginia Woolf Society is devoted to encouraging and facilitating the scholarly study of, critical attention to, and general interest in, the work and career of Virginia Woolf, and to facilitate ways in which all people interested in her writings--scholars, critics, teachers, students, and common readers--may learn from one another, meet together, contact each other, and help one another.
- Virginia Woolf Society of Great BritainOn this website you will find information about the Society and information about Virginia Woolf herself. Under Virginia Woolf Resources you will find a wealth of Woolf information, including a short biography, bibliographies, articles, illustrations and links to related sites.
- National ArchivesList with links to archives holding various ms collections of Virginia Woolf.