MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT
.jpg)
Mary Wollstonecraft by John Opie (c. 1797), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1759-1797
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Eighteenth Century, 1700-1799
Romantic Period, 1780-1837
Literary Movements:
Romanticism 1780-1837
WEB
- Mary Wollstonecraft: The Political as PersonalThis webpage is devoted to the politics of Mary Wollstonecraft, feminist author of the 18th-Century. Unlike other Wollstonecraft websites, however, this homepage has a specific focus centering on the personal application of her philosophies and politics to her very own life. (Dorothy McGivney, Jennifer Ellis, and Jennifer Mahler)
HEADER
"It would be an endless task to trace the variety of meannesses, cares, and sorrows, into which women are plunged by the prevailing opinion, that they were created rather to feel than reason, and that all the power they obtain, must be obtained by their charms and weakness."
Mary Wollstonecraft
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Mary Wollstonecraft, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Mary Wollstonecraft from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
The Cambridge Companion to Mary Wollstonecraft (2002) by
Once viewed solely in relation to the history of feminism, Mary Wollstonecraft is now recognised as a writer of formidable talent across a range of genres, including journalism, letters and travel writing, and is increasingly understood as an heir to eighteenth-century literary and political traditions as well as a forebear of romanticism. The Cambridge Companion to Mary Wollstonecraft addresses all aspects of Wollstonecraft's momentous and tragically brief career. The diverse and searching essays commissioned for this volume do justice to Wollstonecraft's pivotal importance in her own time and since, paying attention not only to A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, but also to the full range of her work across disciplinary boundaries separating philosophy, letters, education, advice, politics, history, religion, sexuality, and feminism itself. A chronology and bibliography offer further essential information for scholars and students of this remarkable writer.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0521783437
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
PRIMARY SOURCES
The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft [DATABASE]
Vol. 1: Mary, A Fiction. The Wrongs of Woman: or, Maria. The Cave of Fancy
Vol. 2: Elements of Morality. Young Grandison
Vol. 3: Of the Importance of Religious Opinions
Vol. 5: A Vindication of the Rights of Men. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman. Hints
Vol. 7: On Poetry. Contributions to the Analytical Review, 1788-1797
You'll also want to check out...
- Texts available in Literature Online (LION) [DATABASE]"To the Editor of the Monthly Magazine" [in The Monthly Magazine and British Register] (1797)
Mary (1788)
The Wrongs of Woman (1798)
The Collected Letters of Mary Wollstonecraft (2004) by
You will smile at an observation that has just occurred to me:-I consider those minds as the most strong and original, whose imagination acts as the stimulus to their senses, Mary Wollstonecraft wrote in a letter contemplating the role of the imagination in human relationships. Enlightenment feminist and famed author of The Vindication of the Rights of Woman, Wollstonecraft was also one of the most distinctive letter writers of the eighteenth century. This volume contains all of her known correspondence. Wollstonecraft talked and thought on paper; her letters were a large part of the drama of her life. In them she grows from an awkward child of fourteen to the woman of thirty-eight facing death in childbirth. Where the letters of "bluestocking" writers such as Elizabeth Carter and Catherine Talbot have a public quality, Wollstonecraft's letters-whether written in haste or carefully composed, opinionated, or vulnerable-stand out among those of other contemporary writers for their candor and lack of sentimentality. They create a palpable world, a sense of inner vitality, revealing a woman of consistent character who nonetheless struggled to reconcile disparate aspects of her life: integrity and sexual longing; the needs and duties of a woman; motherhood and intellectual life; fame and domesticity; reason and passion. Written in cramped lodgings and swaying boats, in the wilds of Scandinavia and the chill of Paris in winter, these letters record not a finished, ordered life viewed retrospectively but the dynamic process of living. Collectively, they form a remarkable work of autobiography that reveals the many dimensions of Wollstonecraft's genius.
Call Number: Miller PR5841.W8 Z48 2003ISBN: 0231131429
