MARY SHELLEY
Mary Shelley by Richard Rothwell, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1797-1851
Literary Periods:
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Romantic Period, 1780-1837
Literary Movements:
Gothic Novel (1764-c.1820)
Romanticism 1780-1837
Nationality: British/English
EXHIBITION
Shelley's Ghost:
A Bodleian Libraries exhibition
in partnership with
the New York Public Library
Video introduction for the curator, Stephen Hebron
Frankenstein
Frankenstein illustrated by Theodor von Holst from the frontispiece of the 1831 edition of Frankenstein, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Shelley in Film
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Mary Shelley, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Mary Shelley from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
The Cambridge Companion to Mary Shelley (2003) by
Known from her day to ours as 'the Author of Frankenstein', Mary Shelley indeed created one of the central myths of modernity. But she went on to survive all manner of upheaval - personal, political, and professional - and to produce an oeuvre of bracing intelligence and wide cultural sweep. The Cambridge Companion to Mary Shelley helps readers to assess for themselves her remarkable body of work. In clear, accessible essays, a distinguished group of scholars place Shelley's works in several historical and aesthetic contexts: literary history, the legacies of her parents William Godwin and Mary Wollstonecraft, and of course the life and afterlife, in cinema, robotics and hypertext, of Frankenstein. Other topics covered include Mary Shelley as a biographer and cultural critic, as the first editor of Percy Shelley's works, and as travel writer. This invaluable volume is complemented by a chronology, a guide to further reading and a select filmography.
Call Number: Miller PR5398 .C36 2003ISBN: 0521809843
Critical Essays on Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley (1998) by
The full range of literary traditions comes to life in the Twayne Critical Essays Series. Volume editors have carefully selected critical essays that represent the full spectrum of controversies, trends and methodologies relating to each author's work. Essays include writings from the author's native country and abroad, with interpretations from the time they were writing, through the present day.Each volume includes: -- An introduction providing the reader with a lucid overview of criticism from its beginnings -- illuminating controversies, evaluating approaches and sorting out the schools of thought-- The most influential reviews and the best reprinted scholarly essays-- A section devoted exclusively to reviews and reactions by the subject's contemporaries-- Original essays, new translations and revisions commissioned especially for the series-- Previously unpublished materials such as interviews, lost letters and manuscript fragments-- A bibliography of the subject's writings and interviews-- A name and subject index
Call Number: Miller PR5398 .C75 1998ISBN: 0783800576
BOOKS
Frankenstein: Complete, Authoritative Text with Biographical, Historical, and Cultural Contexts, Critical History, and Essays from Five Contemporary Critical Perspectives by Call Number: PR5397 .F7 2000ISBN: 031219126The authoritative text of Frankenstein, reference and background information on Mary Shelley, and critical essays.
Falkner by ISBN: 9781693390111Publication Date: 2019-09-17Falkner charts a young woman's education under a tyrannical father figure.
PRIMARY SOURCES
Mary Shelley's papers are part of the Pforzheimer Collection, New York Public Library
You'll also want to check out...
The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley (1996) by
These eight volumes contain the works of Mary Shelley and include introductions and prefatory notes to each volume. Included in this edition are "Frankenstein" (1818), "Matilda" ((1819), "Valperga" (1823), "The Last Man" (1826), "Perkin Warbeck" (1830) and "Lodore" (1835).
Call Number: Bowdoin PR5397 .A1 1996 v.1 - v. 8ISBN: 1851960767
The Journals of Mary Shelley (1987) by
In Paris during the summer of 1814, two lovers, Percy Bysshe Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin, began a chronicle of their life together, starting with an account of the day they eloped to France. These journals--kept during the early years by both of them and then, after their marriage, mostly by Mary alone--are an essential source of information about the lives, both individually and together, of two major British literary figures. This critical edition, the first to be faithful to the manuscript, presents the full text of all surviving journal entries and provides extensive biographical commentary drawn from unpublished as well as published sources.
Call Number: Miller PR5398 .A36 1987 v.1 - v. 2ISBN: 0198125712
Mary Shelley's journal (1947) by Call Number: Bates & Bowdoin PR5398 .A28 1947
The Original Frankenstein (2009) by
Working from the earliest surviving draft of Frankenstein, Charles E. Robinson presents two versions of the classic novel--as Mary Shelley originally wrote it and a subsequent version clearly indicating Percy Shelley's amendments and contributions. For the first time we can hear Mary's sole voice, which is colloquial, fast-paced, and sounds more modern to a contemporary reader. We can also see for the first time the extent of Percy Shelley's contribution--some 5,000 words out of 72,000--and his stylistic and thematic changes. His occasionally florid prose is in marked contrast to the directness of Mary's writing. Interesting, too, are Percy's suggestions, which humanize the monster, thus shaping many of the major themes of the novel as we read it today. In these two versions of Frankenstein we have an exciting new view of one of literature' s greatest works.
Call Number: Miller PR5397 .F7 2009ISBN: 9780307474421
